India's Gaurav Gill has claimed back-to-back wins at International Rally of Whangarei after Skoda teammate Ole Christian Veiby ran into problems on the final stages.

Gill, who collected his third career win at this event, and the young Norwegian swapped back and forth for the lead throughout the two-day event. Veiby suffered a mechanical issue in Sunday's afternoon loop, relinquishing the lead and eventually finished 2:02.8s behind the Indian.

Subaru driver Matt Summerfield was the best of the Kiwis finishing third overall and winning the New Zealand Rally Championship component of the event.

Auckland's Dylan Turner recorded a second place finish in his new Audi S1 finishing 1:06.4s behind Summerfield.


Darren Galbraith was a minute further back in his Mitsubishi EVO 8.

Andrew Hawkeswood took out day two honours in his Mazda after problems on the opening day ruined his overall chances.