World Masters Games, Douglas Track and Field, The Trusts Stadium, Waitakere - 22/30 April 2017

Sally Gibbs won the 10km road race in 36:47 along the Auckland waterfront Quay Street and Tamaki Drive. Adrianne McKenzie was second in 38:40 with Louisa Abram third in 38:46. Gibbs New Zealand masters W50 10km record is 35:19. Donal Sheehy of Ireland won the mens 10km in 33:16, from Nicholas Moore 34:01 and Abderrazak Zbairi of France 34:21.

Jonny McKee won the half marathon in 1:10:21 from Craig Kirkwood 1:12:19 and Greg Darbyshire 1:12:26. Victoria Green won the womens half in 1:24:48 from Angela Hancock 1:27:18 and Carolyn Younger 1:27:50.

Among the many New Zealand Track & Field medallists on day 1, former national champion and World Championships, Olympic and Commonwealth Games representative Chantal Brunner at 46 was out to 5.21m (-0.3) in the long jump taking gold with all six attempts over five metres. Mark Cumming won the M55 6kg HT 52.87m. (-1.5). Highlights from the 5000m finals, Dwight Grieve M35 16:10.77, Jason Cameron M45 16:21.98, Tony McManus M65 19:03.70, Garth Barfoot M80 28:30.38.


Shaw Baton Relays, Battle Hill Farm Park, Pauatahanui - 22 April 2017

Wellington Harriers Senior Men won the Shaw Baton Relay for the first time since 1995 beating current National Road Relay Champions Wellington Scottish. Scottish had won the last 21 editions. Wellington and Scottish battled out the first two laps until Wellington Harriers Captain Nathan Tse pulled clear of Scottishs Rowan Hooper on lap 3. Strong laps from Ryan McAlister and Tim Cornish made for an easy penultimate lap for Evan Cooper who savoured the victory celebrating across the line. Wellington Harriers Co-Captain Tim Cornish reported that the victory was "a true team effort with two athletes choosing to fly across the country to help break Scottishs winning streak". Scott Russell (Scottish) had the fastest lap of 6:12. Wellington Harriers also took line honours in the Senior Women (Andrea Peat, Alice Feslier-Holmes, Phoebe Munro, Sarah Drought), Masters Men 50+, Junior Men and Junior Women proving to be a successful afternoon. Sarah Drought had the fastest womens lap of 7:28.


Hagley Memorial Relays, North Hagley Park - 22 April 2017

Papanui Toc H team of Tom Moulai, Goiteom Gebremedihin, Ben Musson, Adam Jacques, Nick Moulai, Mitchell Small won the senior relay in 1:19:50, University and Papanui Toc H B team. Tom Moulai had the fastest lap of 12:52. University team of Rosa Flanagan who had the fastest womens lap of 14:12, Ariana Harper, Jean Kozyniak and Natalie Dryden won the womens relay in 1:00:07 from their B team and Christchurch Avon.


39th Crescent City Classic 10km Road Race, New Orleans LA, 15 April: Jake Robertson won in a personal best on the road time of 27:52, in beating Kenyan Edwin Rotich by 14 seconds. Dominic Ondoro of Kenya was third in 28:30. Winner for the last two years John Muritu of Kenya was fourth in 29:33. Robertson cut 40 seconds off his previous best road time in Prague in 2010. His best 10,000m on the track is 27:45.46 set four years ago. The 27 year old said that he was chasing Kenyan Sammy Kipketers race record of 27:10 from 2002.

"The course was very good," said Robertson. "I just believe that the wind was a little bit of an issue and the humidity."

Robertson's goal coming into the race was to set a course record. "I was on pace for it through halfway, but we slipped off at the half," he said. "But I knew that when I saw the runner up ahead struggling, that I had a good chance of winning this. It was in the last mile when I had to get it going again, even though I was really spent."

Ocean State Invitational, Providence RI, 15 April: Julian Oakley mile 4:03.88 (1RA).

USCD Triton Invitational, La Jolla San Diego CA, 22 April: Grace Godfrey 100m 13.11 (-0.3) (1R6). 400m 56.94 PB (2R2). Vanessa Story 100m 13.58 (-0.3) (5R6), 200m 27.55 (-1.8) (5R7), 400m 59.42 PB (4) (6R3). Nick Smith 100m 10.95 (-1.7) (9R1). Liam Webb 200m 23.56 (-1.4) (3R6). 4 x 100m relay Manawatu (Grace Godfrey, Vanessa Story, Jordan Hume, Olivia Seymour) 49.90 (1R2) (8). Torie Owers SP 16.13m (7).

Cardinal Classic, Stamford CA, 22 April: Geordie Beamish 1500m 3:44.84 (9S1). Matt Baxter 5000m 13:46.24 (7). Emily Roughan 5000m 17:08.98 PB (9).

Larry Ellis Invitational, Princeton NJ, 22 April: Joshua Billington 100m 11.08 (+0.7) (5R2). Julia Ratcliffe HT 66.45m (1).

John Jacobs Invitational, Norman OK, 22 April: Bailey Stewart 400m 47.64 (3RA). Craig Lautenslager 1500m 3:52.70 PB (5).

John Christiansen Invitational, Fort Collins CO, 22 April: Daniel Hintz 800m 1:54.19 (3R2). Kerry White 800m 2:11.18 (1).

Wolfie Invitational, Stony Brook NY, 22 April: Cameron Avery 3000m 8:34.80 (5). Holly Manning 800m 2:13.30 (1).

Trinity College Invitational, Hartford CT, 22 April: Rory Buckman 3000m steeplechase 10:07.25 PB (2).

Texas State Bobcat Twilight, San Marcos TX, 21 April: Ben Collerton 110m H 15.70 (+1.8) (6), PV 3.85m (6), LJ 6.66m (NWI) (8).

LSU Alumni Gold, Baton Rouge LA, 22 April: Imogen Hull 800m 2:22.96 (2R2).

Michael Johnson Invitational, Waco TX, 22 April: Hannah Miller 1500m 4:32.97 PB (4). Anneke Grogan 1500m 4:44.56 (6R2).


London Marathon, 23 April: Tony Payne 2:27:35 (33). Won by Daniel Wanjiru (Kenya) 2:05:48 from Kenenisa Bekele (Ethiopia) 2:05:57. Mary Keitany (Kenya) won the womens marathon in 2:17:01 from Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia) 2:17:56.



Orewa Beach Half Marathon, 23 April: Chris Trent 1:18:13, Louis Wright 1:19:43, Gene Rand 1:20:26. Katherine Morgan 1:28:41, Ady McKenzie 1:29:44, Emma Dallison 1:34:41. 10km; Brad Luiten 36:58, William Hoppe 38:35, Ian Lee 38:57. Abby Oey 43:05, Nicola Shannon 43:18, Clara Lachurie 45:52.

Te Awamutu

Annual Golf Course 9km, 22 April: Russ Best 29:57, Steve Rees-Jones 30:07, Graham OGrady 31:15. Maureen Leonard 43:09, Shona Dewson 48:32, Jess Shelgren 52:52. 6km; Glenn Sexton 23:36, Isaac Milne 23:49, Karl Bradley 24:01. Katherine Camp 21:33, Charli Miller 22:34, Emerson Deverell 22:43.

Hawkes Bay

Trail Run Series Race 1, Lake Tutira, 23 April: Half Marathon: Brad Donovan 1:30:23, Dougie Kyle 1:30:24, Nikola Sobocanec 1:30:25. Dulia Daly 1:42:02, Karen Toulmin 1:46:57, Karen Moore 1:47:23.


Wellington Scottish 3 peaks race 1, 23 April: Rowan Hooper, Stephen Day and Niam Macdonald 1 =, Nick Horspool 4, Stu Milne 5. Women: Ayesha Shafi 1, Laurika Hazelhurst 2, Anthea Morrison and Lindsay Barwick 3=.

Te Anau

Routeburn Classic, 32km off-road, climbing 1127m, 22 April: Jack Beaumont 2:37:51, Ryan Carr 2:42:34, Dominic Channon 2:49:40, Aaron Jackson 2:51:24. Cecilia Flori 3:25:30, Tania McWilliams 3:27:07, Anna Fischer 3:37:35.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand