Kiwi rally driver Possum Bourne has been elected to the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame.

Bourne, who was killed in a road accident near Wanaka in 2003, was one of 21 new members announced at a gala function attended by FIA President, Jean Todt in Melbourne last night.

The Kiwi driver dominated the Australian Rally Championship in the 1990s - winning seven consectutive titles from 1996-2002.

Fellow New Zealander Jim Richards was another inductee for his saloon car racing deeds.


Richards had been the most recent New Zealander to win the Australian Touring Car Championship until Shane van Gisbergen won the Supercars title in December.

Others to be inducted were Supercars legends Mark Skaife and Larry Perkins and motorcycling star Troy Corser.