The New Zealand rowing squad has been announced for the first stage of the coming season.

The 39-strong, 10-crew team will contest World Cups in Poland and Switzerland as well as the Henley royal regatta.

With Rio Games medallists Mahe Drysdale, Eric Murray, Hamish Bond and Genevieve Behrent unavailable it is a moving year despite 19 returning Olympians.

In significant changes, Robbie Manson takes over the single sculls, Tom Murray and James Murray are in the men's pair and former world championship silver medallists Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast return to the women's pair.


Five of the men's eight and four of the women's eight return from the Rio crews.

A final trial will take place in August to select crews to contest September's world championships in the United States.

Selections reinforce the small boat priority, as well as further developing the progress made in the men's and women's eight programme over the last two years with philanthropic support.

Crews will train at Lake Karapiro before departing for Europe on June 8.

Rowing New Zealand team 2017
To contest World Rowing Cup II, World Rowing Cup III and Henley royal regatta

Men's single scull
Robbie Manson (Central RPC, Wairau RC)
Noel Donaldson (coach)

Men's lightweight single scull
Matthew Dunham (Waikato RPC, Cambridge RC)
Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men's coxless pair
Tom Murray (Central RPC, Blenheim RC)
James Hunter (Central RPC, Wellington RC)
Noel Donaldson (coach)

Men's double scull
Chris Harris (Central RPC, Aramaho Wanganui RC)
John Storey (Southern RPC, Avon RC)
Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men's coxless four
Lewis Hollows (Auckland RPC, West End RC)
Cameron Crampton (Southern RPC, Timaru RC)
Nathan Flannery (Southern RPC, Union Christchurch RC)
Giacomo Thomas (Auckland RPC, Hawkes Bay RC)
Mike Rodger (coach)

Men's eight squad (Crew TBC)
Drikus Conradie (Waikato RC, Waikato RC)
Brook Robertson (Central RPC, Nelson RC)
Alex Kennedy (Waikato RPC, Te Awamutu RC)
Cameron Webster (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)
Isaac Grainger (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)
Shaun Kirkham (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)
Anthony Allen (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)
James Lassche (Southern RPC, Avon RC)
Patrick McInnes (Waikato RPC, Hawkes Bay RC)
Stephen Jones (Auckland RPC, West End RC)
Caleb Shepherd (cox) (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)
Gary Roberts (coach)

Women's double scull squad (Crew TBC)
Hannah Osborne (Waikato RPC, Te Awamutu RC)
Olivia Loe (Southern RPC, Avon RC)
Brooke Donoghue (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)
James Coote (coach)

Women's coxless pair
Kerri Gowler (Central RPC, Aramaho Wanganui RC)
Grace Prendergast (Southern RPC, Avon RC)
Gary Hay (coach)

Lightweight women's double scull
Zoe McBride (Central RPC, Nelson RC)
Jackie Kiddle (Central RPC, Star BC)
Gary Hay (coach)

Women's eight squad (Crew TBC)
Georgia Perry (Waikato RPC, Cambridge RC)
Jackie Gowler (Central RPC, Aramaho Wanganui RC)
Emma Dyke (Southern RPC, Timaru RC)
Lucy Spoors (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)
Rebecca Scown (Central RPC, Union Wanganui)
Kelsi Walters (Auckland RPC, Auckland Grammar RC)
Kelsey Bevan (Auckland RPC, Counties Manukau RC)
Ruby Tew (Central RPC, Star BC)
Ashlee Rowe (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)
Kirstyn Goodger (Central RPC, Wairau RC)
Sam Bosworth (cox) (Southern RPC, Avon RC)
Dan Kelly (coach)