No David Warner; run your eye down the Australian squad for the upcoming Chappell Hadlee series and that's the stark omission.

The bustling lefthand opener has been given a break and sits out the tour, as does Usman Khawaja, who is heading for Dubai early to prepare for Australia's high profile tour of India.

Warner's form has been stunning. He took two centuries off New Zealand in the pre-Christmas Chappell Hadlee and tonked another at the Sydney Cricket Ground to spearhead the series-winning victory over Pakistan last night.

That was his fifth ODI ton in his last 10 innings. In that period, he's scored 783 runs at 78.3. There have only been six other streaks of 10 innings which have produced more runs.


Warner averages 51.3 against New Zealand in 10 ODIs, eight runs higher than his overall ODI average.

"David Warner has had a very big summer and will benefit from a break in cricket, both mentally and physically," interim chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said.

"He will travel to Dubai in the second group of departures to coincide with those players arriving from the one-day series in New Zealand."

Warner is a huge drawcard and will be missed, but you wonder if it will hit the turnstiles.

Unlikely. Australia are a big enough attraction as it is and New Zealand's bowlers probably won't be downcast at Warner's omission.

Veteran Aaron Finch, dropped by Australia this summer, gets a late chance to show what he can do at the top of the order, while Shaun Marsh will likely be his opening partner.

At the other end of the batting order, bowling kingpins Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are both coming to New Zealand, with fast bowling support from Pat Cummins and newcomer Billy Stanlake.

James Faulkner and Marcus Stoinis are the allround picks, while Glenn Marshall and Adam Zampa are the spinners.

The last time Maxwell was at Eden Park he made a goose of himself, producing a choke hold on himself to the crowd as New Zealand lost a flurry of wickets before ultimately winning their World Cup pool game in 2015.

The series will continue in Napier on February 2 and ends at Hmilton's Seddon Park on February 5.

Australia regained the trophy with their 3-0 win at home in December.

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.