Supercars champion-elect Shane van Gisbergen will start the final race of the season from second on the grid after Holden driver Garth Tander recorded an emotional pole position in his final race with his team.

Van Gisbergen secured his maiden title with a third place finish yesterday and will release the shackles on car #97 in the final 250km race of the season with nothing riding on this afternoon's result.

Tander secured his first pole position in four years in what will be his final drive with the Holden Racing Team, which itself loses its factory support next season.

Tander's teammate James Courtney will start third.


With Tander taking pole, van Gisbergen also collects a bonus $10,000 for earning the most pole positions throughout the season.

Van Gisbergen's Red Bull Racing teammate Jamie Whincup made a mess of the first corner of his shootout lap and will start from 10th, giving the New Zealander a little breathing room when it comes to pit stop stacking. He and Whincup share a pit box and the first car on the road generally gets priority.

Kiwi Scott McLaughlin, who moved up to third in the championship ahead of Craig Lowndes with yesterday's result, will start from sixth.

Mark Winterbottom could only muster the 13th fastest time while Lowndes will start 14th.

Kiwis Fabian Coulthard (18th), Andre Heimgartner (25th) and Chris Pither (26th) all missed out on the shootout.