After coming a close second in the biggest horse race of the year, you'd be excused for blowing up at least a little bit.

That wasn't the case for Joao Moreira.

The Brazilian jockey riding the second-placed Heartbreak City in the Melbourne Cup was praised for his "beautiful" gesture to race winner Kerrin McEvoy just seconds after crossing the finish line.

After a brutal head-to-head charge in the final 400m - which ended with just inches of difference between the two jockeys - Moreira patted his victor's back enthusiastically in congratulations.


Their gladiatorial finish was described by Channel Seven's Peter Donegan as "one of the greatest home straight battles in Melbourne Cup history".

Moreira's sportsmanship was met with an outpouring of praise on Twitter.

Almandin beat Heartbreak City by a nose in a thrilling finish to the great race, giving Australian owner Lloyd Williams a record fifth win in the 'race that stops a nation'.

The former German galloper caught and edged Ireland's Heartbreak City at Flemington to give jockey Kerrin McEvoy his second Melbourne Cup, 16 years after his first.

Race favourite Hartnell, one of five Godolphin runners, was third across the line in the A$6.2 million race over 3200m (two miles).

It was a second Cup triumph for local trainer Robert Hickmott, who rehabilitated Almandin over 18 months off the track following a tendon injury after acquiring it in Germany.

McEvoy, who won his first Melbourne Cup with Brew in 2000, got Almandin home from the Tony Martin-trained Irish stayer Heartbreak City and ridden by Hong Kong-based Brazilian jockey Joao Moreira.

"Gee, he travelled well. How lucky am I, mate?" McEvoy said immediately after the win.

"The elation is unreal. Just a dream race. Great to be part of it again. Second cup."

The win made Williams the most successful owner in Melbourne Cup history following his previous successes with Just a Dash (1981), What a Nuisance (1985), Efficient (2007) and Green Moon (2012).

"It's high on the agenda, this one," Williams said, when asked how this triumph rated with his other successes.

"This horse had a (damaged) tendon, he was broken down. No, it's quite emotional about this one. The boys have done a fabulous job with getting this horse back."

The global Godolphin stable again failed to win the race despite having five runners and has now gone almost 20 years without tasting victory at Flemington.

Almandin, left, with jockey Kerrin McEvoy on board approaches the finish line to win the Melbourne Cup. Photo / AP
Almandin, left, with jockey Kerrin McEvoy on board approaches the finish line to win the Melbourne Cup. Photo / AP

Another Godolphin runner Qewy was fourth with Who Shot Thebarman fifth.

Moreira had a win earlier in the day on the Gai Waterhouse-trained invincible star.

"She was too quick for everyone in the race," he said after Race 1.

"She is a talented filly. She does everything right.

"Gai Waterhouse is one of the best training talent in town.

"I just did most of the team's job and I am very proud of it.

"There is no secret.

"You just need to have a good horse."



ALMANDIN Trainer: Robert Hickmott Jockey: Kerrin McEvoy


HEARTBREAK CITY T: Tony Martin J: Joao Moreira


HARTNELL T: John O'Shea J: James McDonald


QEWY T: Charlie Appleby J: Craig Williams


WHO SHOT THE BARMAN T: Chris Waller J: Hugh Bowman


ALMOONQITH T: D & B Hayes, T Dabernig J: Michael Walker


BEAUTIFUL ROMANCE T: Saeed Bin Suroor J: Damian Lane


EXOSPHERIC T: Lee & Anthony Freedman J: Damien Oliver


PENTATHLON T: John Wheeler J: Mark Du Plessis


BIG ORANGE T: Michael Bell J: Jamie Spencer


GRAND MARSHAL T: Chris Waller J: Ben Melham


OCEANOGRAPHER T: Charlie Appleby J: Chad Schofield


BONDI BEACH T: Aidan O'Brien J: Ryan Moore


GREY LION T: Matt Cumani J: Glen Boss


JAMEKA T: Ciaron Maher J: Nicholas Hall


OUR IVANHOWE T: Lee & Anthony Freedman J: Dwayne Dunn


EXCESS KNOWLEDGE T: Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott J: Vlad Duric


ASSIGN T: Robert Hickmott J: Katelyn Mallyon


SIR JOHN HAWKWOOD T: John Thompson J: Blake Spriggs


GALLANTS T: Robert Hickmott J: Blake Shinn


SECRET NUMBER T: Saeed Bin Suroor J: Stephen Baster


WICKLOW BRAVE T: Willie Mullins J: Frankie Dettori


CURREN MIROTIC T: Osamu Hirata J: Tommy Berry


ROSE OF VIRGINIA T: Lee & Shannon Hope J: Ben Thompson