The Melbourne Storm have confirmed it has released eight players from its 2016 squad.

The minor premiers and grand finalists will have holes to fill in 2017 after confirming star grand final Blake Green, Marika Koroibete and Ben Hampton are not the only players who have been told there is no place for them on the Storm's roster next season.

Ryan Morgan, Richie Kennar, Tony Tumusa, Francis Tualau and Matt White are the other players who have been informed their services are no longer required.

The club released a statement to thank all eight players for their service to the club.


"It has been confirmed that a total of eight players will depart the club in the off-season," the statement said.

"Green will leave Melbourne after two consistent years for Storm that saw him play 50 games in the purple jersey, scoring 10 tries and forming a strong halves pairing alongside Cooper Cronk.

"Koroibete played 58 electrifying games for the club as the human highlight real built himself into a fan favourite. The Fijian Flyer arrived at Storm midway through 2014 and instantly announced himself with four tries in his first five games before going on to score a further 29 over the next two seasons.

"Hampton and Kennar will also look to continue their careers elsewhere after both entering the NRL system through the Storm development program.

"Hampton played 36 games over four seasons, 20 of which were in 2016 as he came primarily off the bench in a utility role. Kennar managed six games in two seasons for Melbourne and was unlucky to not play more first grade football in 2016 due to injury.

"After playing one season with Storm, Morgan and White will depart. Morgan played only eight games for the club but it was enough to endear himself to the purple faithful with his hard-nosed defensive approach while White made three appearances.

"Storm would like to thank all eight players for their contributions to the club and wish them the very best for the future."

Green has signed a deal with Manly, Hampton has been picked up by the North Queensland Cowboys and Koroibete has signed with the Australian Rugby Union and is hoping to play for the Wallabies.


The Storm have signed replacements Ryley Jacks (Sunshine Coast), Jahrome Hughes (Cowboys) and Brandon Smith (Cowboys) to join the club this pre-season.