Garry Rogers Motorsport ace Scott McLaughlin will lead the New Zealand contingent come the start of the 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, after claiming the second-fastest lap of the top-10 shootout.

"I didn't quite get it right in that first sector," said McLaughlin following the session.

"I'm on the front row, which is obviously good for track position. Moving forward I think we've got a good car, so we'll see tomorrow."

The Kiwi has qualified towards the front of the field on several occasions for his Volvo squad, but hasn't yet been able to convert pace into an outright result on the mountain.


"I'd just like to lead the end part, not the first part. That's the main thing. We've had a good car the last for years, [and] I don't think tomorrow will be any different."

McLaughlin's time, a 2:05.4915, was just 0.07-seconds away from the pole-sitting time set by Red Bull Racing Australia's Jamie Whincup.

"I just came up short to Jamie, but it was a fantastic lap by him," added McLaughlin.

Whincup and his co-driver Paul Dumbrell have been the duo to beat all weekend, having topped the majority of practice sessions leading into qualifying. His pole-sitting time was made particularly impressive by the fact that the former series and Bathurst champ grazed the outside wall at Forest Elbow.

"The car did everything I needed it to - little bit slow up and down the hill but certainly good over the top," he said.

"There's this myth going around that you can't win the race from pole and it's bad luck, but we'll try and turn the tides tomorrow."

Three Kiwis will start the Great Race from the top 10, with Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbegen joing McLaughlin in the top 10; claiming fourth and seventh respectively.

The Super Black Racing combination of Chris Pither and Richie Stanaway start from 12th, Craig Baird's Penrite Commodore starts from 14th, reigning Bathurst winner Steve Richards starts 21st, and André Heimgartner and Chris van der Drift round out the New Zealand contingent by starting 25th and 27th.