Wallabies veteran Drew Mitchell and lock Kane Douglas have been dropped for Saturday night's Rugby Championship clash with Argentina in Perth, while prop Tom Robertson is a chance to make his international debut from the bench.

Douglas has been replaced in the starting side by Rob Simmons, who will partner Adam Coleman in the sixth different lock combination used by Michael Cheika in 2016.

Mitchell returned from injury off the bench in last week's win over South Africa, but he has been replaced in the squad by Henry Speight.

Mitchell is still building up his match fitness, and he's expected to be in line for a starting berth for upcoming matches away to South Africa and Argentina.


Speight hasn't featured in the Test arena since facing Uruguay at last year's World Cup.

The uncapped Robertson will start on the bench in place of injured prop Allan Alaalatoa.

Back-rower Lopeti Timani has also been named on the extended bench, but he'll have to survive the final cut if he is to have a chance of making his debut.

Argentina made four changes to the side that lost 57-22 to the All Blacks last week.

Brumbies scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli earns his first start since last year's World Cup, while Juan Manuel Leguizamon returns at blindside flanker after recovering from a leg injury.

Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias replaces injured centre Juan Martin Hernandez, while Javier Ortega Desio moves to lock to fill the void left by the injured Guido Petti.

Wallabies: Israel Folau, Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Bernard Foley, Reece Hodge, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Dean Mumm, Adam Coleman, Rob Simmons, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore, Scott Sio.

Res: Tatafu Polota- Nau, James Slipper, Tom Robertson, Rory Arnold, Lopeti Timani, Sean McMahon, Nick Phipps, Tevita Kuridrani, Henry Speight (one to be omitted)

Argentina: Joaquin Tuculet, Santiago Cordero, Matias Moroni, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Nicolas Sanchez, Tomas Cubelli, Facundo Isa, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Pablo Matera, Matias Alemanno, Javier Ortega Desio, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.

Res: Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Enrique Pieretto, Marcos Kremer, Leonardo Senatore, Martin Landajo, Gabriel Ascarate, Matias Orlando