While Sam Meech was securing Laser bronze, Peter Burling and Blair Tuke went out and extended their leading margin in the 49er class to become unbeatable and are now assured of Olympic gold after they sail Thursdays medal race.

Gemma Jones and Jason Saunders sailed the race of their lives with a brilliant medal race victory in the Nacra class, but their fate was determined by the order in which the other nations crossed and they narrowly missed out on the podium and finish 4th.

Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie have pulled out a stunning performance today. Lying 7th overall after setbacks during the week the women went out and won races eight and nine back to back in the womens 470, and move up to lie 2nd overall going into tomorrows medal race.

Great Britain are so extended on points that Aleh and Powrie will do battle with crews from USA, France and Japan to decide the silver and bronze medals.

Things couldnt be closer going into the 49erFX medal race and kiwis Alex Maloney and Molly Meech are in contention for podium finish with just the medal race remaining. After today the womens skiff pair is amidst a four way pile-up at the top of the leader-board.

With one point separating 1st and 4th, and then a 28 point gaps, Thursdays medal race will determine which of the four crews get the medals, and in which order.

Josh Junior was 4th in the Finn medal race and he wraps up the Rio Olympic Games with a 7th overall.

In the mens 470 Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox have a place in the starting line-up for the Mens 470 class. They go in lying 9th overall.

49er Medal Race line-up (provisional) featuring Peter Burling and Blair Tuke

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (NZL) - 33 points

Erik Heil and Thomas Ploessel (GER) - 67 points

Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen (AUS) - 70 points

Dylan Fletcher-Scott and Alain Sign (GBR) - 80 points

Jonas Warrer and Christian Peter Lbeck (DEN) - 92 points

Julien d'Ortoli and Noe Delpech (FRA) - 96 points

Yago Lange and Klaus Lange (ARG) - 97 points

Ryan Seaton and Matthew Mcgovern (IRL) - 103 points

Diego Botn le Chever and Iago Lpez Marra (ESP) - 108 points

Lukasz Przybytek and Pawel Kolodzinski (POL) - 108.3 points

49erFX Medal Race line-up featuring Alex Maloney and Molly Meech

Tamara Echegoyen Dominguez and Berta Betanzos Moro (ESP) - 46 points

Martine Soffiatti Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA) - 46 points

Jena Hansen and Katja Salskov-Iversen (DEN) - 46 points

Alexandra Maloney and Molly Meech (NZL) - 47 points

Sarah Steyaert and Aude Compan (FRA) - 75 points

Giulia Conti and Francesca Clapcich (ITA) - 76 points

Charlotte Dobson and Sophie Ainsworth (GBR) - 81 points

Annemiek Bekkering and Annette Duetz (NED) - 85 points

Paris Henken and Helena Scutt(USA) - 94 points

Victoria Jurczok and Anika Lorenz (GER) - 94 points

Womens 470 Medal Race line-up (provisional) featuring Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie

Hannah Mills and Saskia Clarke (GBR) - 28 points

Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (NZL) - 48 points

Annie Haeger and Briana Provancha (USA) - 49 points

Camille Lecointre and Hlne Defrance (FRA) - 50 points

Ai Kondo Yoshida and Miho Yoshioka (JPN) - 52 points

Afrodite Zegers and Anneloes van Veen (NED) - 59 points

Tina Mrak and Veronika Macarol (SLO) - 65 points

Fernanda Oliveira and Ana Luiza Barbachan (BRA) - 68 points

Lara Vadlau and Jolanta Ogar (AUT) - 74 points

Agnieszka Skrzypulec and Irmina Gliszczynska (POL) - 96 points

Mens 470 Medal Race line-up (provisional) featuring Paul Snow-Hansen and Dan Willcox

Sime Fantela and Igor Marenic (CRO) - 27 points

Panagiotis Mantis and Pavlos Kagialis (GRE) - 38 points

Mathew Belcher and William Ryan (AUS) - 40 points

Stuart Mcnay and David Hughes (USA) - 67 points

Anton Dahlberg and Fredrik Bergstrm (SWE) - 69 points

Luke Patience and Chris Grube (GBR) - 69 points

Matthias Schmid and Florian Reichstdter(AUT) - 73 points

Sofian Bouvet and Jeremie Mion (FRA) - 79 points

Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox (NZL) - 92 points

Yannick Brauchli and Romuald Hausser (SUI) - 92 points

NZL Sailing Team Results

Sam Meech (Laser) Bronze Medal Laser

Gemma Jones and Jason Saunders (Nacra) 4th

Josh Junior (Finn) 7th

Full results are available on the Rio 2016 website: https://www.rio2016.com/en/schedule-and-results

Tomorrows schedule

Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie - W470 - Medal Race (1305 Brazil/0405 NZ)

Paul Snow-Hansen and Dan Willcox - M470 - Medal Race (1405 Brazil/0505 NZ)

Alex Maloney and Molly Meech - 49erFX - Reserve Day

Peter Burling and Blair Tuke - 49er - Reserve Day

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Yachting New Zealand