The New Zealand Women have been confirmed to meet trans-Tasman rivals Australia in the quarter finals at the Rio Olympic Games.

Following the completion of the pool phase, the womens quarter final line-up has been scheduled.

As in the mens competition, the two highest ranked teams in the womens game will meet in the quarter final stage as Pool A winners the Netherlands face Argentina, who finished fourth in Pool B.

Pool B winners Great Britain will take on Pool As fourth-place finisher Spain in the last eight, while USA, who finished second in Pool B, face a meeting with a Germany team that finished third in the Pool A standings.

The quarter finals will also feature an Oceania derby match, with Pool A runners-up New Zealand going head to head with Pool Bs third placed team Australia.

The womens quarter final matches all take place on Tuesday 16th August (NZ time), with New Zealand playing Australia at 1:00am, live on SKY Sport 3 before USA and Germany take to the field at 3:30am.

The Great Britain versus Spain match will start at 9:00am, with Netherlands taking on Argentina at 11:30am.

Complete information about the hockey competitions at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games can be found on the official website:

Womens Quarter Final Match Schedule

16 August, 2016 (All in NZ time)

1:00am - New Zealand (2nd Pool A) v Australia (3rd Pool B)

3:30am - USA (2nd Pool B) v Germany (3rd Pool A)

9:00am - Great Britain 1st Pool B) v Spain (4th Pool A)

11:30am - Netherlands (1st Pool A) v Argentina (4th Pool B)

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Hockey NZ