IAAF Diamond League, Herculis, Stade Louis II, Monaco - 15 July 2016

Valerie Adams advance towards a third consecutive Olympic gold took a step closer with a win in the shot put with 20.05m, her first over 20 metres since September 2014. Adams series in the event was 19.25, 19.76, 19.70, x, 20.05 and 19.76. Christina Schwanitz of Germany was second with 19.81m and Michelle Carter of USA third with 19.58m.

Adams said going over 20 metres was pleasing.

"The distance was definitely more important than the win. The win is just a bonus, it shows I still have the competitive fire in me," said Adams.

Meanwhile Eliza McCartney was fifth in the pole vault at the same meeting. McCartney cleared 4.55m. She was over 4.40m on her first attempt, 4.55m on her second attempt and she missed her three attempts at 4.65m. Katerina Stefanidi of Greece won with 4.81m.


Downunder Championships, Griffith University Athletic Track, Gold Coast Queensland - 8/10 July 2016

Brent Newdick decathlon; 100m 11.26 (+0.4), LJ 7.03m (-0.2), SP 13.70m, HJ 1.88m, 400m 51.40, 110m H 15.03 (+0.6), DT 45.05m, PV 4.40m, JT 51.39m, the 1500m was not run.

Fiona Morrison 100m 12.26 (+0.6) (2), 200m 25.14 (+0.1) (5). Amber Lee Brown HT 4kg 45.19m (3), HT 3kg 53.25m PB (1), SP 3kg 14.10m PB (4), DT 38.60m (1), JT 35.89m (3).

Anna Grimaldi LJ 5.34m (+0.8) (8), LJ 5.23m (-0.9) (3), 200m 27.20 (+1.4) (2h2). Holly Robinson JT 37.55m (2).

Joseph Sinclair (14) 800m 2:12.81 (7), 2:09.87 in heats, 1500m 4:33.21 (3). Gerard Hickey HJ 1.80m (6). Tom Maslin LJ 6.58m (+1.3) PB (1). Gloria Agnew 100m 12.78 (+0.1) (2).

Throwers at Greystanes Sydney, 3 July: Warren Button HT 58.09m (1).


Uitslag Gouden 3000, Rieme, 11 July: Eric Speakman 1500m 3:43.12 (2). Won by Tom Lancashire of England in 3:40.13. Katherine Marshall 800m 2:05.46 (2).

International Meeting dAthletisme, Liege, 13 July: Angie Petty 800m 2:00.62 (2).


World Junior Championships Warm Up Meeting, Torun, 15 July: Zoe Hobbs 100m 11.64 (+0.8) PB (1) 200m 24.21 (+0.4) (2r1), Lucy Sheat 100m 11.73 (+0.8) (2), Olivia Eaton 100m 11.76 (+0.8) PB (3) 200m 23.89 (+0.4) PB (1r1), Brooke Somerfield 100m 11.88 (+0.8) (5), Symone Tafunai 100m 12.16 (+0.8) (5), Georgia Hulls 100m 12.29 (+0.8) (6) 200m 24.39 (+0.2) (1r2), Alison Andrews-Paul 200m 25.15 (+0.2) PB (2r2), Lauren Bruce DT 43.73m (1) HT 56.86m (1), Jacob Matson 100m 10.95 (+0.5) (2r1), Jordan Bolland 100m 10.98 (+0.5) (3r1), Ethan Holman 100m 11.10 (+0.2) (3r2), Jarvis Hansen 100m 11.13 (0.0) (3r3) 200m 22.44 (-0.3) (1r2), Jake Hurley 100m 11.17 (+0.2) (5r2), Hamish Gill 200m 21.62 (+0.2) (2r1).


Athletics Waikato Bay of Plenty Cross Country Championships, Spa Thermal Park - 16 July 2016

Aaron Pulford won the senior title running 32:13 for the demanding 10km. He finished 34 seconds ahead of Harry Ewing. Nicole Mitchell won the womens title in 38:36 for the 10km. Sally Gibbs was second in 39:11 with Nancy Jiang third in 41:05. Steve Rees-Jones (M40-44) blitzed the masters field covering the 8km in 27:36. Kent Hodgson (M45-49) was second in 30:10. Bridget Ray (MW50-54) was the fastest master woman timed at 25:33 for the 6km.

Isaiah Priddey won the M/18 6km in 20:23, 20 seconds faster than William Sinclair with Sam Montgomerie third in 21:40. Hannah Knighton won the W/18 4km in 16:05. Mathijs Wetzels was the B14 winner in 10;18 for the 3km and Charli Miller the G14 winner in 11:03.


Athletics Hawkes Bay Gisborne Cross Country Championships - 16 July 2016

In a closely contested race Napier Harriers Lucas Duross held off his club mate Kristian Day to take out the senior mens title over 10km in 38:17 just one second ahead of Day. Third place was secured by Napiers Campbell MacDonald in 46:31. Ruby Muir, also Napier Harriers, easily won the senior womens race, also over 10km, in 42:37. Laura Nagel could not make the trip due to a minor injury. Lucas, Kristian, Ruby and Laura have all been selected to run the National Cross Country Championships in Auckland on 7 August. In the mens masters grade run over 8km Steve Morrow from Gisborne Harriers won in 32:31 from Phil McKay Hastings in 35:03 with Napiers Craig Mathers taking out third in 36:07. Gisborne Harriers had a clean sweep in the womens masters grade run over 6km with Nadine McKinnon winning in 30:45, Katie Edwards second in 31:13 and Nicole Iremonger third in 40:06. William Little (Napier) won the boys 16/18 6km in 24:54, Briana Irving won the G14 4km in 16:38, Ollie Marshall the B14 4km in 15:54, Chloe Kapene the G12 2km in 9:15 and Charlie Roil the B12 2km in 8:28.


Athletics Manawatu Wanganui Cross Country Championships, Mangaone Park - 17 July 2016

David Lovelock won the senior 10km in 36:05, heading in Jake Jackson-Grammer by 34 seconds. Bryce Hirschberg was third in 38:20. Tamara Reed won the senior women in 42:24. AJ Cornwall was the best of the masters in 39:08. Juanita Paterson won the master women 6.1km in 27:07 with Leanne Porritt second in 27:46. Jack Finlay won the JM 7.5km in 29:34. Winners of the youth grade Benjamin Wall 6.1km in 22:20 and Tessa Webb 4km in 15:42. Liam Wall B14 2.5km 9:24 and Ashleigh Alabaster G14 2.5km 9:54. Entries were up 10 percent on last years championship with 115 taking part.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand