Two Wales stars have been selected in UEFA's Team of the Tournament for Euro 2016 but surprisingly neither name reads Gareth Bale.

Despite leading Wales to a historic semifinal appearance at this summer's showpiece in France, their talisman has been omitted from the chosen XI by UEFA.

The 27-year-old scored three times for Chris Coleman's side in their six matches but has been overlooked with Joe Allen and Aaron Ramsey the two chosen by a select UEFA panel.

The 13-strong panel of technical observers included Sir Alex Ferguson, David Moyes and Gareth Southgate who based their team on various criteria such as exceptional skill in attack and/or defence and tactical maturity and efficiency throughout the game, for example.


Allen and Ramsey excelled in midfield as Wales topped Group B before beating Northern Ireland and Belgium in the knockout stages of the tournament where they lost to eventual winners Portugal in the semifinals.

Unsurprisingly, Fernando Santos' side dominate the all-encompassing team with four players selected.

Rui Patricio is named in goal in the 4-2-3-1 formation with centre back Pepe and left back Raphael Guerreiro included in defence.

Cristiano Ronaldo's appearance in the final ended prematurely due to injury but the Portugal captain's efforts throughout the European Championship sees him named up front.

Supporting Portugal's captain in an attacking three behind him are Ramsey and France duo Dimitri Payet and Antoine Griezmann - with the latter named Player of the Tournament.

Germany trio Joshua Kimmich, Jerome Boateng and Toni Kroos complete the line-up

'After quite a bit of deliberation, the observers chose a team that features the best performing players from the best performing teams at UEFA EURO 2016,' Ferguson said about the decision to select that XI.

'We have chosen dominant central defenders; full-backs who can defend and attack; deep-lying midfielders who can control the game and dynamic, flexible and creative attackers, all of whom have the ability to create and score goals.

'We believe that the selected XI represents the best of the competition.'

In the past a 23-man squad has been selected with Ronaldo (2004 and 2012) and Pepe (2008 and 2012) both previously picked twice.

Ronaldo was also in the All-Time EURO 11 named before the tournament.