Papatoetoe's Mose Auimatagi Jr claimed the NZPBA middleweight title with a majority points decision over Gunnar Jackson in Auckland Friday night.

Auimatagi was a heavy underdog heading into the fight, however he produced a strong surge over the final two rounds of the the-round contest to dethrone Jackson.

While not contentious, the decision could have gone either way. One judge scored the fight even, while another gave it to Auimatagi by just one round. The third judge gave the fight to Auimatagi 97-94.

Auimatagi now holds both the NZPBA and NZNBF titles.


"He pushed me to the limit," Auimatagi said. "That was my hardest fight. I'm speechless."

Auimatagi's victory now sets up the prospect of a rematch, or perhaps a clash with Jordan Tai - the man he replaced on the main event of Big Bash V after Tai was ruled out with an ear injury.

In the co-main event, heavyweight prospect Junior Fa posted a unanimous points victory in a one sided contest against the brave but limited Junior Pati.

Fa landed some huge shots, however he could not shift the remarkably durable Pati. A former Commonwealth Games bronze medallist who twice beat Joseph Parker as an amateur, the towering Fa improved to 4-0 as a professional.

Shane Cameron's undefeated prospect Ricky "The Ghost" Murphy put on a boxing clinic to outpoint the brave but limited Wellingtonian Blake Bell over six rounds, while Nikolas "The Greek" Charalampous moved to 13-0 with a unanimous points victory over Vaimoli Ioelu (0-4).

In the first televised fight of the night David 'The Brown Buttabean' scored a unanimous points victory over George Hola. A fourth and final round knockdown tilted the scores in Letele's favour in what was an otherwise evenly contested fight.

Panuve Helu improved to 4-1 with a comfortable victory over journeyman Josh Tai in a four-round light heavyweight contest, while Daniel Tai scrapped to a majority draw with Kiki Toa Leutele.

Junior Fa bt Junior Pati (unanimous points)
Mose Auimatagi Jr bt Gunnar Jackson (majority points)
Ricky "The Ghost" Murphy def Blake "Playa" Bell
Nikolas Charalampous bt Vailmoli Ioelu
Panuve ' Wild Boy' Helu bt Josh Tai (points)
Daniel Tai majority draw with Kiki Toa Leutele
David Letele bt George Hola (points)