New Zealand Golf has named two exciting teams to contest the 2016 Eisenhower and Espirito Santo trophies at the World Amateur Team Championships in Mexico.

The women selected to take on the world at the Espirito Santo are Julianne Alvarez (Wellington/Washington), Wenyung Keh (Auckland/Washington) and Chantelle Cassidy (Waikato).

The men's side to compete at the pinnacle in amateur golf is Nick Voke (Auckland/Iowa State), Luke Toomey (Waikato) and Ryan Chisnall (Tasman).

The Espirito Santo, played from 14-17 September and the Eisenhower from 21-24 September, will be shared between the Mayakoba El Camaleón Golf Club and Iberostar Playa Paraiso Golf Club designed by Pete Dye and Greg Norman respectively.

Alvarez and Keh will lead the charge at the Espirito Santo having just come off a successful College campaign, helping the Washington Huskies win their first championship in history. The experience and confidence gained competing at this level will be invaluable as they look to become the first New Zealand team to take home the title.

"It's so exciting, it's always an honour to represent your country and to put on the New Zealand uniform, I feel very honoured," said Alvarez.

"It's a great platform over there in America, the tournaments we play are all stroke play events and similar format to the worlds event and with our recent success it certainly helps build our confidence."

"To be able develop my game in the last year against strong competition in America was hugely beneficial, you just have to trust everything you have done and back the processes then let the rest take care of itself and hopefully well all work well together."

The pair have been part of the New Zealand High Performance programme for seven and five years respectively and as they near the end of their amateur careers, it would be a dream come true to leave with an Eispirito Santo Trophy in the cabinet.

Joining them in Mexico, Cassidy who won three times on the local circuit over summer earning her the right to compete on the world stage. Cassidy's dominance throughout the Jennian Homes Charles Tour included two victories, coupled with a victory at the Stroke Play Championship near the end of summer.

To the men's talented trio of Voke, Toomey and Chisnall, they will look to follow in the footsteps of Michael Campbell, Phil Tataurangi, Grant Moorhead and Stephen Scahill who famously won the Eisenhower Trophy in Canada in 1992.

All three players have valuable experience on the international stage. Since 2013, Voke has been playing College golf at Iowa State University in America where he has recorded sensational results including three victories and 15 top 10's to make him a vital member of the side.

Chisnall is obviously excited to be given the opportunity to represent his country and believes his recent success at the Mexican Amateur Championship earlier this month after finishing third, will give him confidence in heading back there come September.

"It feels pretty awesome, to receive those type of phone calls never gets old but for something like this is an awesome experience. It's something you work towards for many years so it's great to finally be named," said Chisnall.

"I have had some cool moments in my career, but to represent New Zealand at the highest level has always been a dream of mine so to get the big phone call was a huge buzz."

"To play in those conditions and prove myself in Mexico earlier this month was big for me and hopefully I can carry that form over in September."

Toomey, who is the current New Zealand Stroke Play champion, is competing at another international event in Japan this week after being invited to the ISPS Handa Global Cup. The experience will provide great preparation for what is arguably the biggest event in the amateur golf calendar. Toomey will come up against some of the world's best such as Padraig Harrington and Charl Swartzel to test himself before setting his sights on the Eisenhower Trophy.

The Espirito Santo and Eisenhower Trophy are biennial world amateur team golf championship's organised by the International Golf Federation. They are stroke play events where the best two scores from three players count toward the team's score for each round.