Kiwis centre Shaun Kenny-Dowall will be given another 24 hours to prove his fitness ahead of the Anzac test on Friday.

The Roosters player has been named in the lineup for the match against Australia but his participation remains up in the air. He sat out yesterday's team session and took no part in Tuesday's training in North Parramatta.

Kenny-Dowall has ligament damage in the foot - the injury is colloquially known as `turf toe' - and it is believed to be on the more serious end of the scale.

He has been in a moon boot since the Kiwis assembled and while the camp remains hopeful, his chances must be a long shot.


But he will be given as much time as possible simply because the team can't afford to lose any more experience from the back line. Peta Hiku left the camp early on Tuesday morning (he has a knee ligament strain) and the team have also been denied the services of Kieran Foran, Manu Vatuvei, Dean Whare, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and Thomas Leuluai (for various reasons).

Along with Jason Nightingale, Kenny-Dowall is the only member of the outside backs with substantial test experience, though Gerard Beale has played his part in some memorable matches in the last few years.

Parramatta centre Brad Takairangi trained in Kenny-Dowall's place on Tuesday.

Takurangi has New Zealand heritage through his mother, and has already impressed insiders with the way he has fitted into the camp. But it was difficult timing for Takairangi today, with plenty of Australian-based media at the ground seeking comment on the Eels salary cap dramas.

In sweltering conditions in Western Sydney, the Kiwis completed an opposed session with the Junior Kiwis, before the squad split up - with coach Stephen Kearney working with the edge and back line players and assistant coach David Kidwell taking the props and locks through some drills.

This afternoon the team make the journey up the Central coast to Newcastle, where they will be based for the next four days.

Kiwis lineup

1 Jordan Kahu

2 Jason Nightingale

3 Shaun Kenny-Dowall

4 Gerard Beale

5 Dallin Watene-Zelezniak

6 Tohu Harris

7 Shaun Johnson

8 Jesse Bromwich

9 Lewis Brown

10 Adam Blair

11 Kevin Proctor

12 Manu Ma'u

13 Jason Taumalolo

14 Kodi Nikorima
15 Greg Eastwood
16 Martin Taupau
17 Sam Moa
18 Brad Takairangi
20 Kenny Bromwich