Herald sports writers Wynne Gray (rugby), David Skipwith (rugby league), David Leggat (cricket) and Dana Johannsen (netball) name their selections for a current, composite Anzac squad.

Wynne Gray's Anzac rugby XV:

15. Ben Smith

14. Damian McKenzie

13. Malakai Fekitoa


12. Charlie Ngatai

11. James Lowe

10. Aaron Cruden

9. Aaron Smith

8. Kieran Read

7. Sam Cane

6. Jerome Kaino

5. Sam Whitelock

4. Brodie Retallick

3. Charlie Faumuina

2. Dane Coles

1. Scott Sio (Aus)

David Skipwith's Anzac rugby league XIII

1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (NZ)

2. Jason Nightingale (NZ)

3. Greg Inglis (AUS)

4. Dean Whare (NZ)

5. Manu Vatuvei (NZ)

6. Shaun Johnson (NZ)

7. Johnathan Thurston (AUS)

8. Jesse Bromwich (NZ)

9. Issac Luke (NZ)

10. Matt Scott (AUS)

11. Kevin Proctor (NZ)

12. Simon Mannering (c) (NZ)

13. Jason Taumalolo (NZ)

David Leggat's Anzac combined cricket test team

David Warner (Australia)

Joe Burns (Australia)

Kane Williamson (NZ)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Adam Voges (Australia)

Mitchell Marsh (Australia)

BJ Watling (NZ)

Tim Southee (NZ)

Josh Hazlewood (Australia)

Trent Boult (NZ)

Nathan Lyon (Australia)

Dana Johannsen's Anzac netball seven

As we're only three rounds into the ANZ Championship, it is difficult to get a proper gauge of individual form so early in the season. So these picks are based on last year's stand-out players at international level. There's been a bit of position reshuffling in the defensive end in order to squeeze in Australia's two outstanding defenders Laura Geitz and Sharni Layton. But hey, that's a hypothetical selector's prerogative.

GS Caitlin Bassett (AUS)
GA Maria Tutaia (NZ)
WA Kim Green (AUS)
C Laura Langman (NZ)
WD Kayla Cullen (NZ)
GD Laura Geitz (AUS)
GK Sharni Layton (AUS)