St Peter's School of Cambridge have followed their dominance at the North Islands with a top Aon Maadi Cup return in Twizel.

They have won the coveted Star Trophy for the most overall points from the regatta with 43, finishing ahead of Hamilton BHS (36) and Christchurch BHS (26).

The team also took home The Presidents Scull for the top sculling school for the third year in a row. Katelyn Williamson won the Simon Briggs Cup for coxswain of the regatta.

Overall the team won 13 medals, five gold, five silver and three bronze. Wins came in the U15 girls' quad and octuple, U16 girls' four, U18 novice girls' four and U17 girls' double.

The Maadi Cup race itself for the U18 boys' coxed eight was won by Christ's College, ahead of Hamilton BHS and Christchurch BHS.


Relive the Aon Maadi Cup

The outstanding individual effort was from Ashburton's Veronica Wall, who won the single sculls treble in U16, 17 and 18s, an unprecedented feat. For good measure, she helped her U18 coxed four to the title.

Of the other Auckland schools, Diocesan picked up two U18 golds, in the coxed four and eight (Jubilee Cup). Diocesan coach Rachel Arbuckle won the Bill Eady Cup for Rowing NZ's junior coach of the year. Sacred Heart, in the U18 novice coxed eight, won their first Maadi title since 1978.

Other golds went to Glendowie (U15 girls' double sculls), King's (U16 boys' coxed quad sculls) and St Kentigern (U17 boys' coxed eight).