New Zealand are the first team to qualify for the semi-finals at the World T20 in India, but where they play that match is still up for debate.

The 22-run victory over Pakistan in Mohali advanced the Black Caps to the final four for the first time since the tournament's inaugural edition in 2007.

The two semi-finals will be played in Delhi (March 30) and Mumbai (March 31). The final is in Kolkata on April 3.

If Pakistan qualify for the semi-finals, the match will be played in Delhi due to political reasons.


The local political party, Shiv Sena, has caused ructions when Pakistan have visited Mumbai in the past.

Ross Taylor talks to the Crowd Goes Wild Breakfast

According to Cricinfo, one controversy came in October, when the party protested at the Indian cricket board's offices as talks were held over a possible India-Pakistan bilateral series.

The second place-getter in Group 2 is unlikely to be known until the final round games, but the India/Bangladesh encounter tomorrow morning in Bangalore, and the Australia/Pakistan match in Mohali on Friday night, will have a significant bearing.

Pakistan are currently second in the group. They have two points along with Australia and India, but boast a higher net run rate.

Complicating New Zealand's travel arrangements is the possible removal of Delhi as a hosting venue due to structural concerns.

The Delhi High Court has refused to allow the use of a key seating block in the city's Feroz Shah stadium, thereby restricting the scope for revenue.

Mike Hesson talks to Newstalk ZB's Mike Hosking:

The Delhi and District Cricket Association has approached the court with a petition seeking to open the stand to prevent the chance of the semi-final getting shifted to an alternative venue. They have guaranteed the structure's safety but at this stage only television broadcasters would be allowed access because the stand is right behind the bowler's arm.

Regardless, New Zealand's three convincing victories mean they now loom as a favourite to take out their maiden World Cup or World T20 title.