Furious Warriors coach Andrew McFadden labelled the reporting of James Gavet for a cannonball-type tackle on Melbourne's Cameron Munster as "ridiculous" following their dramatic 21-14 defeat at Mt Smart Stadium today.

As it happened: Warriors v Storm

The incident occurred in the 34th minute, after Gavet put up a midfield bomb and chased through the line to greet Storm fullback Munster, who fielded the kick, with a diving tackle around the legs.

Munster was stepping backwards to evade Gavet, who was parallel with the ground as his shoulder connected just above the left-knee, and a melee quickly broke out after Storm players reacted to what they perceived as dangerous contact.


Four days after fellow Warriors front-rower Ben Matulino escaped suspension after being cited for a shoulder charge in last week's loss to Brisbane, McFadden was left fuming by referee Henry Perenara's call that could see Gavet front this week's NRL judiciary.

"I think it was ridiculous," he said. "Since when can't you tackle one on one low?

"I know it was an awkward tackle at the end, but that happens in a contact game. But there was nothing illegal with the tackle.

"It was ridiculous he got put on report. The bloke (Munster) finished the game. It's common sense."

James Gavet gets put on report. Photo / Getty
James Gavet gets put on report. Photo / Getty

McFadden was clearly unhappy with the 9-8 penalty count against his side, but would not be drawn further on Perenara's display.

The visitors benefited from a flurry of pressure-relieving penalties in the first half, and the Warriors were left to rue a possible missed knock-on when the scores were tied up at 14-14 inside the final five minutes.

"I can't comment on it so there's no point going there," he said when asked about Perenara's performance.

"I'm sure that was a knock-on, just before they kicked that field goal. But that's what we're dealing with at the moment."

Storm coach Craig Bellamy felt the calls went both ways overall, and was non-committal when asked his view on the Gavet incident.

"We had the best of the first half and they had the best of the second half," said Bellamy.

"I didn't see it closely (Gavet's tackle). It was probably not the classic (cannonball) tackle where they get charged with a couple guys up the top and someone jams in low, so it was a one-on-one tackle.

"So obviously they've deemed it to be dangerous contact by the amount of force he went in with, and where he went in.

"I think he must have went in at his knees. I imagine that's the reason why he's on report.

"Some people will probably say that's a little bit tough but that's someone else's area."