The afterglow of their Rugby World Cup triumph has produced yet more plaudits for the All Blacks, with both the team and Dan Carter receiving nominations for the prestigious 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards.

The All Blacks have been honoured in the team of the year category after claiming their third Webb Ellis Cup, while Carter has been nominated for comeback of the year after inspiring his side to victory following personal disappointment in 2011.

Fresh from claiming the overall prize at the Halberg Awards, the All Blacks will be hoping to make it sixth time lucky at the Laureus Awards. They were last nominated two years ago, missing out to German football side Bayern Munich, while they were also luckless in 2012 (FC Barcelona), 2011 (Spain national football team), 2007 (Italy national football team) and 2006 (Renault Formula One team).

Steve Hansen's men will again face stiff competition at the 2016 ceremony, to be held in Berlin on April 18. Barcelona will likely be front-runners after winning four trophies in 2015, while strong cases can be made by NBA champion Golden State Warriors, Great Britain's Davis Cup-winning side, Formula 1 team Mercedes AMG Petronas and the World Cup-winning United States women's football team.


Carter, meanwhile, has become rather accustomed to donning a tuxedo in the months since tasting World Cup glory. After being awarded man of the match in the final, the 33-year-old was named both World Rugby player of the year and BBC overseas sports personality of the year, before being pipped for sportsman of the year at the Halbergs.

Listen to Sean Fitzpatrick talk about trying to convince other Laureus members to vote All Blacks:

"It's a huge honour," Carter said. "I know a lot about Laureus, the amazing work they do and the special awards ceremony they have. It's nice to be recognised for the year I had in 2015 - it was a very special year, not only for me but also for the All Blacks, and to be a part of that was amazing."

Carter be coming up against Jessica Ennis-Hill (athletics), Mick Fanning (surfing), Michael Phelps (swimming), David Rudisha (athletics) and Lindsey Vonn (skiing), while the France-based first five-eighth also joins a small contingent of Kiwis recognised at the Laureus Awards.

In addition to the All Blacks, Sir Peter Blake in 2002 received a lifetime achievement award, while Levi Sherwood in 2011 won the action sportsperson of the year prize. Other Kiwi nominees include Jonah Lomu (2006) and the Crusaders (2012) for comeback of the year, while Valerie Adams was last year shortlisted for sportswoman of the year.

Nominees for the 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards:
Sportsman of the Year
Usain Bolt (Jamaica), athletics; Stephen Curry (US), basketball; Novak Djokovic (Serbia), tennis; Lewis Hamilton (UK), motor racing; Lionel Messi (Argentina), football; Jordan Spieth (US), golf.

Sportswoman of the Year
Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia), athletics; Anna Fenninger (Austria), skiing; Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica), athletics; Katie Ledecky (US), swimming; Carli Lloyd (US), football; Serena Williams (US), tennis.

Team of the Year
All Blacks (New Zealand), rugby; FC Barcelona (Spain), football; Golden State Warriors (US), basketball; Great Britain Davis Cup team, tennis; Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team (Germany), motor racing; US women's football team.

Breakthrough of the Year
Chile men's football team; Jason Day (Australia), golf; Tyson Fury (UK), boxing; Adam Peaty (UK), swimming; Jordan Spieth (US), golf; Max Verstappen (Netherlands), motor racing.


Comeback of the Year
Dan Carter (New Zealand), rugby; Jessica Ennis-Hill (UK), athletics; Mick Fanning (Australia), surfing; Michael Phelps (US), swimming; David Rudisha (Kenya), athletics; Lindsey Vonn (US), skiing.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Marie Bochet (France), skiing; Liu Cuiqing (China), athletics; Daniel Dias (Brazil), swimming; Omara Durand (Cuba), athletics; Pieter Du Preez (South Africa), athletics, cycling; Leung Yuk Wing (China Hong Kong), boccia.

Action Sportsperson of the Year
Rachel Atherton (UK), mountain biking; Bob Burnquist (Brazil), skateboarding; Adriano de Souza (Brazil), surfing; Mick Fanning (Australia), surfing; Jan Frodeno (Germany), ironman; Chloe Kim (US), snowboarding.