Wrap of college sport results in the last seven days.

The Premier A first XI one-day championship enjoyed a full airing on Saturday after a rain-affected opening day of the season.

In Pool A, St Kentigern's day got progressively worse against Sacred Heart thanks to the outstanding bowling of Matthew Gibson, who claimed 7-34 off 10 overs, and they could muster only 143. Sacred Heart suffered an early setback, losing two quick wickets, but quickly recovered through Adam MacKinnon (43) and Jack Coman (56), who guided their team to victory by six wickets in 36 overs.

Callum Douglas of King's provided the highlight of an exciting game with a century to help his team post a challenging 225 against St Peter's. No other King's batsman could pass 30 as the St Peter's bowlers showed good discipline to stop the score running away from them. The St Peter's chase was led by a strong partnership between Harry Plummer (53) and Lucas Dasent (38) but when Plummer was dismissed by William St John with 50 runs still required, the innings fell apart. They were bowled out 23 runs short of victory.


Regular wickets from Westlake BHS's Ben Beecroft (4-30) and Luke Ranson (3-36) meant Takapuna Grammar couldn't build any meaningful partnerships in their match and were bowled out for 137. Westlake knocked off the runs by the 28th over, captain Angus McKenzie scoring an impressive 80 not out in the comfortable six-wicket victory.

In Pool B, Macleans set an imposing 275, thanks largely to an impressive 85 from Le-Shur Vermeulen. He enjoyed good partnerships with Abrar Ahmed, Brandan Laurenzi and Carl de Beer. Junior Matautia was the pick of the Liston bowlers, taking 3-65. In reply, Liston slumped to 28-3, as Cameron Hull (3-14) ran through the top order. Opener Sam Devereaux (52) found support from Lewis Swann and the pair put on 77 for the fourth wicket. The runs dried up when both were dismissed in consecutive overs as the spinners took control of the game. Liston were unable to recover and were dismissed for 156 in the 41st over.

Auckland Grammar's opening pair of Flynn McGregor-Sumpter (30) and Callum Coutts (32) laid a good foundation against MAGS, putting on 67. MAGS fought back, taking 5-33 but Grammar's lower order fought back to post 193 for 9. In reply, MAGS were in early trouble at 6-4 as Sean West knocked the top off their innings. MAGS struggled to put together any meaningful partnerships, succumbing for 84 after West and Josh Stephens took three wickets each.

Rosmini were soon in trouble in their match against Rangitoto, slumping to 66-7, but recovered to 124 all out thanks to a 50-run partnership between Ben Forsyth Jones (30) and Luke Buxton (27). The main wicket takers for Rangitoto were Todd Wannan (2-15), Grant Celliers (2-13) and Declan Ranwell (2-9). Rangitoto were soon under pressure at 33-4, but a solid 80-run partnership between Dylan Taylor (60no) and Declan Ranwell (28) dashed Rosmini hopes and gave Rangitoto a well-deserved win.

Glendowie College secured their position as Auckland schools rowing champions at Lake Pupuke on Saturday, crowned overall Head of Harbour for the first time as well as girls' regatta champions.

Thirty-four Auckland schools and 879 athletes took to the water for the 80th Head of Harbour regatta. Competing over a 900m short course, Glendowie achieved 18 firsts, 17 seconds and 12 thirds out of 65 starts, resulting in 11 gold, eight silver, and five bronze-medalling crews (first division only).

Glendowie finished the regatta with 153 points, 33 ahead of King's, champions for the past five years.

Glendowie's rowing programme has experienced rapid growth and a new coaching team, led by Josh Schmidt and comprising Josh Everitt, Nick Tetley, Lily Millett and Danielle Schofield, has already produced fine results leading up to the Maadi Cup in Twizel in early April.

Westlake BHS won their seventh under-18 eights title in nine seasons and also look in good shape.

Westlake proved competitive in the younger age groups, but it was in the older divisions that their strength really showed. The under-17 eights and under-18 coxed quadruple sculls won two bronze medals to go alongside gold medals and Auckland championship titles in the under-17 coxed four, under-18 coxless pair, under-18 coxed four and the pinnacle event, the under-18 eights.

The under-18 eights title has been raced for since 1937 and is one of the biggest events on the rowing calendar for Auckland schoolboys. Westlake had won this title 23 times previously and were the defending champions heading into the 2016 edition. Auckland Grammar and Sacred Heart were expected to contest line honours but Westlake coxswain Greg Scott managed to stir his crew of Hugo Verdonk, Mathew Barry, Callum Gilmour, Sam Jones, James Brake, Finn Pethers-Boak, Jake Jones and Mitchell Hazelhurst to the front of the field. They eventually crossed first by a canvas from Sacred Heart, with Auckland Grammar back another length in third.

Westlake finished seventh in the boys' standings and 11th overall.

Water polo
Rangitoto won the Bennett-Buck Shield with a narrow 7-6 victory over Westlake BHS on Sunday evening in premier Pool B action. They have held the silverware since 2012 and this makes seven wins in a row.

Westlake warmed up with an 11-2 win over Kristin on Friday night. Rangitoto crushed Long Bay 15-1.

The Bennett-Buck Shield, created by Westlake and Rangitoto old boys Jake Bennett and Michael Buck, has been passionately contested between the two schools since 2007 and Sunday's match at the National Aquatic Centre was no exception.

Rangitoto started strongly and were up 5-1 in the first quarter. Westlake fought back to close the gap 7-4 in the second quarter with superb goals by Liam Wedlock-Aston, ably assisted by Shahid Dawad, Logan Fuller and Ethan Thomas. Neither team scored in the third quarter, with goalie Reuben Barr impressive. In the last quarter Liam and Iziah Mahe added two further goals but Rangitoto won 7-6.

Defending Auckland champions Sacred Heart lost 10-9 to King's on Sunday.