Hayden Roulston has missed out on a place in the New Zealand squad for next month's world track cycling championships in London.

The double Olympic medallist has failed to force his way into the endurance line-up, which features four of the five riders that won the team pursuit world title last year.

The other member of the world champion pursuit team, Regan Gough, has missed out on selection due to health grounds.

Olympic bronze medallist Simon van Velthooven has also failed to crack the 18-strong squad, with Matt Archibald preferred as the back-up to the men's team sprint trio.


Racquel Sheath has is back in the women's endurance line-up, while junior world championship medallist Olivia Podmore has been selected to join the in-form Natasha Hansen in the women's sprint.

The team is:
Men, endurance: Piet Bulling (Southland), Alex Frame Canterbury), Aaron Gate(Auckland), Dylan Kennett (South Canterbury), Nic Kergozou (Southland), Luke Mudgway (Manawatu), Marc Ryan (South Canterbury).
Sprint: Matt Archibald (Southland), Eddie Dawkins (Southland), Ethan Mitchell (Auckland), Sam Webster (Auckland).
Women, endurance: Rushlee Buchanan (Waikato), Lauren Ellis (Mid Canterbury), Jaime Nielsen (Waikato), Racquel Sheath (Waikato), Georgia Williams (Auckland).
Sprint: Natasha Hansen (Southland), Olivia Podmore (Canterbury).