Jesse Bromwich has been recognised as the best of the best in New Zealand league, named the 2015 Kiwis Player of the Year.

The 26-year-old headed off fellow finalists Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and Tohu Harris to win the major honour (the Steve Watene medal) at the NZRL awards last night.

It's appropriate recognition for the Storm prop, who has established himself as one of the premier front rowers in the sport over the last two seasons. Bromwich went to a new level in 2015, averaging 144 running metres per NRL game with only Tuivasa-Sheck and fellow Kiwi Jason Taumalolo achieving more yardage.

He also played all four tests for the Kiwis last year, highlighted by the 26-12 Anzac test victory which secured the Kiwis' No1 ranking.


"Jesse has elevated himself to one of the premier forwards in our game," said Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney, who nominated Bromwich.

"His performances at club and international level over the past 20 months have seen him recognised as such. His contribution to the Kiwis team and its development through his input as part of the team's leadership group has been an integral part of the team's success."

Australian RL Commission chairman John Grant announced Broncos utility Jordan Kahu as Kiwis Rookie of the Year, while fellow test newcomer Tuimoala Lolohea (Warriors) won Junior Player of the Year.

Teuila Fotu-Moala was named Women's Player of the Year.

New Zealand Rugby League award winners:

Female Volunteer of the Year: Leanne Anderson (Southern).
Male Volunteer of the Year: Simon Itula (Wellington).
Grassroots Club of the Year: Glenfield RL (Akarana).
Domestic Coach of the Year: Grant Pocklington (Akarana).
Match Official of the Year: Adam Burns (Southern).
16s Player of the Year: Josh Uta (Counties Manukau).
18s Player of the Year: Ata Hingano (NZ Warriors).
Premier Player of the Year: Raymond Talimalie (Counties).
Junior Player of the Year: Tuimoala Lolohea (NZ Warriors).
Women's Player of the Year: Teuila Fotu-Moala (Counties Manukau).
Kiwis Rookie of the Year: Jordan Kahu (Brisbane Broncos).
Kiwis Player of the Year: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm).