The Warriors begin their Nines assault in the mid-afternoon on day one with a 2.20pm game against the Canterbury Bulldogs and less than four hours later play their second pool match against the Manly Sea Eagles.

Fans will want to get their early however, to catch the opening match between arch-rivals the Sydney Roosters - featuring a cameo from Braith Anasta - and last year's title winners the South Sydney Rabbitohs at 12.30pm.

The first match of the women's three test series between the New Zealand Kiwi Ferns and Australian Jillaroos begins at 4pm, with the remaining two games scheduled late on day two.

By Sunday we'll have a better idea of the teams likely to challenge for finals spots and the action gets underway at the earlier time of 10.35am, with the Roosters taking on Melbourne Storm.


The Warriors will continue their quest with what should be a thrilling third and final pool encounter against the Brisbane Broncos at 12.40pm.

The finals get underway from 1.55pm, and the Kiwi Ferns and Jillaroos will resume their battle for transtasman supremacy with their second and third games at 4.05pm and 5.45pm.

Just prior to the tournament grand final, league immortal Andrew Johns, three-time Golden Boot winner Johnathan Thurston, superboot Daryl Halligan and former All Black and Blues star Carlos Spencer, and one lucky competition winner, will go head-to-head in a Legends charity goal-kicking challenge.

The unique event pits three of league's greatest points scorers against a man who ruled Eden Park for a decade.

The scene will then be set for the grand final at 6.40pm, to decide the tournament winner of the third edition of the Nines.

2016 NRL Auckland Nines full draw and match schedule
Pool groups:
Waiheke: Roosters, Rabbitohs, Eels, Storm

Rangitoto: Knights, Cowboys, Panthers, Tigers

Hunua: Warriors, Bulldogs, Sea Eagles, Broncos

Piha: Dragons, Raiders, Sharks, Titans

Day 1

12.30pm Roosters v Rabbitohs

12.55pm Eels v Storm

1.20pm Knights v Cowboys

1.45pm Panthers v Tigers

2.20pm Warriors v Bulldogs

2.45pm Sea Eagles v Broncos

3.10pm Dragons v Raiders

3.35pm Sharks v Titans

*4.00pm Kiwi Ferns v Jillaroos

4.25pm Rosters v Eels

4.50pm Rabbitohs v Storm

5.15pm Knights v Panthers

5.40pm Cowboys v Tigers

6.15pm Warriors v Sea Eagles

6.40pm Bulldogs v Broncos

7.05pm Dragons v Sharks

7.30pm Raiders v Titans

Day 2

10.35am Roosters v Storm

11.00am Rabbitohs v Eels

11.25am Knights v Tigers

11.50am Cowboys v Panthers

12.15pm Bulldogs v Sea Eagles

12.40pm Warriors v Broncos

1.05pm Dragons v Titans

1.30pm Raiders v Sharks


1.55pm Quarter-final 1: 1st Waiheke v 2nd Rangitoto

2.20pm Quarter-final 2: 2nd Waiheke v 1st Rangitoto

3.05pm Quarter-final 3: 1st Hunua v 2nd Piha

3.30pm Quarter-final 4: 2nd Hunua v 1st Piha

*4.05pm Kiwi Ferns v Jillaroos

4.40pm: Semi-final 1: Winner QF1 v QF2

5.05pm: Semi final 2: Winner QF3 v QF4

*5.45pm Kiwi Ferns v Jillaroos

6.40pm: Final: Winner SF1 v Winner SF2