Each week from now until the annual ASB YSPOTY awards dinner in November, we will profile two of the past winners as we count down to the 25th annual event which honours the top young college sportspeople in the region.

Kyle Brown (King's) 1991

If you played First XI cricket in Auckland in 1991, you would have known the name Kyle Brown, the most feared fast bowler in the competition.

He led his King's College side to the championship with no less than 68 wickets, his lethal left-armers too hot to handle for many of the young First XI batsmen. They were heady times for a young lad from the country.


"Coming from Mahurangi, from the sticks, into the big Auckland schools scene, that was pretty daunting and I felt the college rivalry," says Brown, now 42 and a father-of-two working in the building industry for Warkworth Construction.

He recalls the inaugural ASB YSPOTY Awards night in 1991, held at Kohimarama's ASB Stadium and featuring John Walker, now knighted, as guest speaker.

"It was a big shock when they called my name out. I couldn't believe that I had conquered that, but I was rapt."

A foot injury hampered Brown's cricket career after he left school, though he did play for Auckland and New Zealand Under 19s. He did, however, play a lot of premier rugby as a fullback for the Mahurangi club in the North Harbour competition.

Beatrice Faumuina (Lynfield) 1991

Lynfield College's only supreme winner at the ASB YSPOTY dinner remains the inaugural awardee - Beatrice Faumuina.

At school, Faumuina was already exhibiting the qualities as a discus thrower that would take her to a world championships title (1997) and two Commonwealth Games gold medal (1998 and 2002), as well as representing New Zealand at four Olympics.

Her personal best in the discus was 68.52m, which came in Oslo in 1997, just before her world championship throw.


She is seen as a role model for Pacific Island women and now, aged 40, appropriately works for ASB as Head of Talent and People Strategy. Faumuina has filled a variety of roles over the years, including a stint as TV presenter for Tagata Pasifika. Some of those have contributed to her ONZM gong.

Immediately prior to her ASB position, she was chief executive of the BEST Leadership Academy and Charitable Foundation.

The likes of Maddison Wesche are continuing the Lynfield tradition of strong throwers, but Faumuina remains the sole discus thrower - male or female - to win the supreme ASB YSPOTY award.


Lake Karapiro will be a hive of activity next week with the 2015 Maadi Cup (New Zealand Secondary School Rowing Championships).

The regatta is the largest schools sports event in New Zealand and one of the largest regattas in the Southern Hemisphere. The regatta begins on Monday and runs for six days, with the event concluding on Saturday March 28.

The Maadi Cup is the prize for the New Zealand Secondary Schools boys' Under 18 rowing eights but it has become the colloquial name given to the New Zealand Secondary Schools Rowing Regatta, at which the Maadi Cup is the premier event. Follow the Maadi Cup and results at www.maadicup.co.nz and www.rowit.co.nz


In the Senior A1 girls last Saturday, Westlake and St Kentigern both had comprehensive 9-0 wins, while MAGS consolidated third position on the table with a 6-3 result over Baradene. The closest result in the boys was a 7-2 win by St Kentigern over its nearest rival, Westlake, however the contest was much more even than the result suggests with many hard-fought, long sets providing excitement for the spectators. Auckland Grammar beat traditional rivals King's 8-1 but, again, the matches were keenly contested and exemplified when Grammar No 4 Ishan Naik saved four set points to win 7-5. Sacred Heart beat MAGS 9-0, although the top seeds had a close tussle.


MAGS lies fifth in the First XI top six standings, but pulled off a five run victory over third-placed St Kentigern, an outstanding allround display by Aniket Parikh leading the way.

After winning the toss MAGS elected to bat, but the loss of an early wicket meant the batsmen struggled to establish themselves. Some good bowling from St Kentigern restricted MAGS to 67-4 after 26 overs. Up stepped Parikh, who combined with Max Thomson for a partnership of 102 and then again with Fraser Campbell for an unbeaten partnership of 53. Parikh led MAGS through to 222-5 with an unbeaten 119 off 113 balls.

In response, St Kentigern started aggressively, getting through to 65-3 in the 17th over. Aditya Edekar and Sandeep Patel (45) then joined together to put on 99 for the fourth wicket, before Edekar was out for 63, having led his team to a good position at 164-4 with 12 overs remaining. However, the MAGS bowlers began to tighten their line and with pressure starting to mount, a succession of St Kent's batsmen gave their wickets away. Parikh and Ariyan Hassan took three wickets each.