The Football Ferns have drawn a challenging pool for next year's FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada.

This morning's draw saw New Zealand being drawn with hosts Canada, China and the Netherlands.

The Kiwi team is the lowest ranked in their pool at No 19 in the FIFA rankings. Of the four teams, Canada is ranked the highest at No 8, with China and the Netherlands at numbers 14 and 15 respectively.

Defending champions Japan have come up lucky, drawing Switzerland, Cameroon and Ecuador, none of whom are in the top 15 in the world.


Group A

Canada, China, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group B

Germany, Ivory Coast, Norway, Thailand

Group C

Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador

Group D

USA, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria


Group E

Brazil, South Korea, Spain, Costa Rica

Group F

France, England, Colombia, Mexico