New Formula One races in Austria and Russia were confirmed today, while the provisional grand prix in New Jersey, South Korea and Mexico were cut in the revised calendar.

Teams that were angry in October that the provisional calendar included 22 races would have been happy to see the schedule remain the same at 19.

The new Austrian GP will be on June 22, bringing the teams back to Europe after the race in Montreal. The Russian GP in Sochi, which hosts the Winter Olympics in February, will be on Oct. 12, a stopover for teams from the Japanese GP to the United States GP.

They replace the Indian GP and South Korean GP.


The promoter of the planned New Jersey race says he's working to restructure the financing so the event can be held in 2015.

Leo Hindery Jr. said he wants the race to take place as soon as possible. But he calls it a "huge undertaking'' to build the road course without tapping public money while also meeting the series' timing demands.

2014 Formula One Calendar
March 16 Australia (Melbourne)
March 30 Malaysia (Sepang)
April 6 Bahrain
April 20 China (Shanghai)
May 11 Spain (Barcelona)
May 25 Monaco
June 8 Canada (Montreal)
June 22 Austria (Spielberg)
July 6 Britain (Silverstone)
July 20 Germany (Hockenheim)
July 27 Hungary (Budapest)
Aug. 24 Belgium (Spa)
Sept. 7 Italy (Monza)
Sept. 21 Singapore
Oct. 5 Japan (Suzuka)
Oct. 12 Russia (Sochi)
Nov. 2 United States (Austin)
Nov. 9 Brazil (Interlagos)
Nov. 23 Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

- AP