Dan Carter, the International Rugby Board's player of the year, has failed to make the shortlist for the All Blacks' top award.

Captain Richie McCaw, No8 Kieran Read and centre Conrad Smith are the New Zealand Rugby Union's nominees for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year award, which will be announced in Auckland on Friday.

All Blacks' first-five Carter beat McCaw, Englishman Owen Farrell and Frenchman Freddie Michalak for the IRB player of the year award recently. It was the second time Carter had won the award.

In other nominees announced, Israel Dagg, Liam Messam and Aaron Smith are contenders for the Tom French Memorial Maori player of the year, and Rawinia Everitt, Fiao'o Fa'amausili, Selica Winiata are vying for the NZRU women's player of the year award.