It proved a quiet night for New Zealand riders on the second day of finals at the Oceania Track Cycling Championships in Adelaide.

Young riders Georgia Williams and Steph McKenzie were the only medallists on a night dominated by the Australians.

Williams finished third in the women's 3000m individual pursuit when she beat Australian Georgia Baker convincingly.

The Auckland rider just missed out on the gold medal ride in the morning and responded strongly to win the bronze in 3:37.493, to claim third place convincingly.


She was only 0.6s off the time set by world championship medallist Ashlee Ankudinoff in winning the silver behind her Australian compatriot Rebecca Wiasak who set the standard in 3:34.746.

McKenzie, the former world junior championship medallist, showed her prowess to finish third in the keirin final.

With Olympian and national champion Natasha Hansen missing out on a spot in the final it was fellow Southlander McKenzie who led the way for the kiwis in third behind Australians Stephanie Morton and Kaarle McCulloch.

Earlier none of the Kiwi men made it to the medal round of the individual pursuit.

Ashburton's Daniel Rafferty was the best of the under-19 brigade in the 1000m time trial grabbing third place in 1:05.393.

Invercargill's Josh Haggerty led the New Zealanders at the conclusion of the under-19 omnium in fifth place ahead of fellow Southlander Michael Culling. Haggerty left his best until last with a fourth placing in the 1000m time trial in 1:06.385.

Tomorrow is the elite omnium and sprint for men and women along with the under 19 team pursuit and men's 30km points race.

The championships continue until Saturday.

Final results:

Elite women:
3000m individual pursuit: Gold: Rebecca Wiasak (AUS) 3:34.746, 1; Ashlee Ankudinoff (AUS) 3:36.876, 2. Bronze: Georgia Williams (NZL) 3:37.493, 3; Georgia Baker (AUS) 3:45.045, 4.
Keirin, final: Stephanie Morton (AUS) 1, Kaarle McCulloch (AUS) 2, Steph McKenzie (Southland) 3. Semifinal 1: Morton 1, Taylah Jennings (AUS) 2, McKenzie 3. Semifinal 2: McCulloch 1, Katie Schofield (NZL) 2, Cassandra Kell (AUS) 3. Final 7th to 12th: Hansen 1, Rikki Belder (AUS) 2, Henrietta Mitchell (Auckland) 3.

Under-19 Men:
1000m time trial: Zac Shaw (AUS) 1:03.549, 1; Alex Radzikiewicz (AUS) 1:04.194, 2; Daniel Rafferty (NZL) 1:05.393, 3.