Herald sportswriter Dana Johannsen scooped top prizes at last night's Sir Terry McLean Sports Journalism Awards.

Johannsen won three major awards - the NZ Sports Journalists Association supreme journalist of the year award, best sports news reporting and best sports feature writing.

Johannsen's portfolio featured a ground-breaking feature series, "The Knock-on Effect", detailing the risks from concussion in contact sports.

She also won praise for a feature on the prevalence of eating disorders among elite netballers and for a feature on Temepara George's final training session as a professional netballer.


Her news portfolio included a scoop about a bust-up aboard around-the-world yacht Abu Dhabi that resulted in a New Zealand sailor being kicked off the crew.

Johannsen also got Sir Russell Coutts to admit to making a mistake when he chose the class for the next America's Cup, but not before he also tried to blame Team NZ.

Johannsen also held Yachting New Zealand's fingers to the flame after discovering it was keeping Olympic selection criteria a secret.

Herald senior photographer Brett Phibbs was also a winner, picking up the prize for best community sport, recreation and adventure portfolio.

Reporters from APN took most of the major prizes at the awards, which includes industry sponsorship from APN and Fairfax.

APNZ's Kris Shannon was recognised with the D.J. Cameron young writer award, Andrew Alderson won for the best single story and Gregor Paul, now on tour with the All Blacks, won the best columnist category.

Roy Williams received the award for lifetime contribution to sport through journalism.

Photosport's Anthony Au-Yeung won the best single photo award.

APN's winners are
2012 Sir Terry McLean Sports Journalism Awards

* NZSJA supreme sports journalist of the year: Dana Johannsen, NZ Herald

* Award for sports news reporting (print): Dana Johannsen, NZ Herald

* Award for sports feature (print): Dana Johannsen, NZ Herald

* Award for sports column/opinion (print/radio/TV) Gregor Paul, Herald on Sunday/NZ Rugby World

* NZ Herald D.J. Cameron young writer award: Kris Shannon, APNZ news service

* NZSJA award for best sports story: Andrew Alderson, Herald on Sunday

* Best community/sport/recreation/adventure portfolio: Brett Phibbs, NZ Herald