The Maori All Blacks squad for the end of year tour to the United Kingdom was named today with Bay of Plenty stalwart Tanerau Latimer to captain the side.

The 26-strong squad leaves on 6 November for a three-match tour with matches against Leicester Tigers, an RFU Championship XV, and Canada in England.

Maori All Blacks Coach Jamie Joseph said he was delighted with the calibre of his team.

"The Maori All Blacks are a unique team and we feel very privileged to be part of this special campaign.


"We have selected Tanerau as captain for his perfect mix of talent and leadership on and off the field - and we have seen him put both to good use in this year's ITM Cup.

"We are very excited about this tour to England as the programme offers an excellent opportunity to display the depth of talent we have.

"Taking on the Leicester Tigers and the unique Championship XV at home will be a challenge for us, especially knowing that the home advantage will be a huge factor for them.

"We are looking forward to the challenge and I know these young men selected today will rise to the occasion," Joseph said.

Maori All Blacks squad
Forwards: Hika Elliot, Quentin MacDonald, Ben May, Bronson Murray, Ben Afeaki, Jacob Ellison, Jarrad Hoeata, Jason Eaton, Romana Graham, Ross Filipo, Nick Crosswell, Tanerau Latimer (capt), Karl Lowe, Shane Christie.

Backs: Jamison Gibson-Park, Frae Wilson, Willie Ripia, Tim Bateman, Jackson Willison, Charles Ngatai, Declan O'Donnell, Andre Taylor, Kurt Baker, Trent Renata, Kade Poki.