New Zealand has lost the toss and will bowl on the morning of the first test against India in Hyderabad today.

Captain Ross Taylor would have batted had the coin flip gone his way, given the pitch at Rajiv Ghandi International Cricket Stadium is likely to deteriorate as the match progresses.

But counterpart MS Dhoni happily elected to bat, giving New Zealand's seam attack their first crack at an Indian side shorn of the retired Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman.

After practising throughout the week in overcast conditions, the Black Caps were greeted by bright sunshine when they awoke this morning. It would hardly have been a welcome sight for new coach Mike Hesson who opted to include swing bowler Trent Boult to take advantage of the overhead conditions.


Joining Boult in attack will be veteran Chris Martin, recalled after being dropped for the second test in the West Indies, and Doug Bracewell. Neil Wagner and Tim Southee are the unlucky men to miss out.

The recalled Jeetan Patel has won the battle for the spin bowling spot, beating out Hyderabad-born Tarun Nethula.

Brendon McCullum will open with Martin Guptill when New Zealand get their turn to bat, with Kane Williamson coming in at first drop followed by his captain.

Daniel Flynn, who opened in the Caribbean, is set to come in at No 5, followed by allrounder James Franklin and wicket-keeper Kruger van Wyk.

India have bestowed the unenviable task of filling Dravid and Laxman's spots on Cheteshwar Pujara, a 23-year-old with only three tests to his name, and Suresh Raina.

Teams for the first test between India and New Zealand starting today in Hyderabad:

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor (c), Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Kruger van Wyk, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Jeetan Patel, Chris Martin.
India (probable): Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c), Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav.