LEEDS - Jarryd Hayne's stunning 2009 season has earned him yet another major award, with the Parramatta superstar named the international player of the year at a gala dinner in Leeds today.

Hayne was awarded the game's highest individual honour following a string of stunning displays for the Eels, NSW and Fiji at last year's World Cup, the latest prize sure to give his contract negotiations with Parramatta a significant boost.

The 21-year-old - who will continue talks with the Eels about staying at the NRL club beyond 2010 as soon as he returns home from Australia's Four Nations campaign - beat out Kangaroos teammates Greg Inglis and last year's winner Billy Slater to the gong.

The medal, presented to him by former Great Britain skipper Ellery Hanley, is the second major individual honour Hayne's amazing run has netted him this year, with the Eels fullback receiving the Dally M medal for the NRL's best player back in September.

With the judging period starting at last year's World Cup for the Rugby League International Federation award, Hayne gave an early glimpse of what was to come as he steered Fiji to an improbable semifinal meeting with Australia.

The NRL season started slowly as he struggled to come to grips with his move to five-eighth, but his switch to fullback and a brilliant State of Origin series playing on the wing for NSW catapulted him to the award.

Inglis didn't go home empty-handed from the awards ceremony - held in the same city where Australia will meet England in Sunday's Four Nations final - with the Melbourne star named international centre of the year.

Inglis and Hayne (fullback) were joined in the team of the year by just one other Australian, with Cameron Smith named hooker of the year.

New Zealand had two representatives with Benji Marshall (five-eighth) and Fuifui Moimoi (prop) also making the cut, while surprise Four Nations finalists England had three starters with Wests Tigers forward Gareth Ellis (second row) and Kevin Sinfield (lock) joined by international rookie of the year winner Ryan Hall (wing).

NRL premiership-winner Craig Bellamy beat out Melbourne assistant and New Zealand World Cup winning mentor Stephen Kearney for the coach of the year accolade, while Australian Shayne Hayne edged the man he is battling for right to officiate in Saturday's Four Nations final - Englishman Steve Ganson - for the referee of the year.

RLIF awards 2009

Player of the Year: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta and Australia)
Rookie of the Year: Ryan Hall (Leeds and England)
Referee of the Year: Shayne Hayne (Australia)
Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne and NSW)

Team of the Year
Fullback: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta and Australia)
Winger: Ryan Hall (Leeds and England)
Centre: Greg Inglis (Melbourne and Australia)
Stand-off: Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers and New Zealand)
Halfback: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland and Australia)
Prop: Fuifui Moimoi (Parramatta and New Zealand)
Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne and Australia)
Second row: Gareth Ellis (Wests Tigers and England)
Loose forward: Kevin Sinfield (Leeds and England)