Key Points:

The 12 teams to compete in next year's Louis Vuitton Pacific Series in Auckland have been unveiled in Paris.

With America's Cup holders Alinghi, Oracle BMW Racing and Emirates Team New Zealand confirmed as entrants in the regatta, the event is set to pit Kiwi sailors Brad Butterworth, Russell Coutts and Dean Barker up against one another in their own backyard.

Bruno Trouble, spokesman for Louis Vuitton, said the gathering of international teams and sailors committed to the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series was one of the most impressive ever brought together.

Event organisers received 14 official entries, but with the number of participants being limited to 12, two teams are on the waiting list.

The teams will arrive in Auckland on January 23 to familiarise themselves with the boats, which have been loaned for the regatta by BMW Oracle Racing and Emirates Team New Zealand. The two weeks of match racing competition starts on January 30.

* The line-up

Emirates Team New Zealand, Luna Rossa (Italy), BMW Oracle (US), K-Challenge (France), Mascalzone Latino (Italy), Team Origin (UK), China Team, Team Shosholoza (South Africa), Italia Vasco Vascotto, Team Germany, Greek Challenge, Alinghi (Switzerland).

Waiting list: Italia Francesco De Angelis, Team French Spirit Marc Pajot