New Zealand's success on the international stage has reflected the shortlist for the annual International Rugby Board awards, with the All Blacks and three members of the team in contention for the major prizes.

Captain Tana Umaga, Dan Carter and Richie McCaw, along with South Africa's Bryan Habana and Victor Matfield, have been nominated for the board's player of the year award.

New Zealand and Wales lead the nominations for the for team of the year.

The coaches of the two teams -- Graham Henry of New Zealand and Mike Ruddock of Wales -- are the nominees for coach of the year.

Isaia Toeava has been nominated for the under-19 player of the year and Orene Ai'i and Amasio Valence for the sevens player of the year.

The awards will presented at the Pavillon d'Armenonville in Paris' Allee de Longchamps on November 27, the night after the France-South Africa test at Stade de France.

New Zealand are also in contention for the sevens team of the year and should have contenders for the women's personality of the year and perhaps a referee's award.

The judges, stars of the past and with a collective 503 tests among them, are South Africa's Francois Pineaar, All Blacks great Michael Jones, France's Fabien Galthie, Ireland's Keith Wood, Scotland's Gavin Hastings, Wales' Jonathan Davies, United States' Dan Lyle and Argentina's Federico Mendez. The convenor is Australia's John Eales.

Other nominations are

Under-19: Isaia Toeava (New Zealand), Alistair Hargreaves (South Africa), Mahlatse Ralepelle (South Africa).

Under-21: Tatufu Polota-Nau (Australia), Derick Kuun (South Africa), Thabang Molefe (South Africa).

Sevens: Orene Ai'i and Amasio Valence (New Zealand), Neumi Nanuku (Fiji).