The Kiwi golfer's club caddy pulled the flagstick from the hole after he played a chip shot on the 9th green and the ball unerringly found the cup.
Golf's Rule 17-1 states: "If the flagstick is not attended, removed or held up before the player makes a stroke, it must not be attended, removed or held up during the stroke or while the player's ball is in motion if doing so might influence the movement of the ball."
If Hendry's ball had missed the cup, no penalty would have resulted, but the ball could have struck the stick had the flag not been pulled.
Ordinarily the infraction would result in a two-shot penalty, but Hendry did not realise the error and signed for a three over par 75. He was disqualified under rule 6.6, which deals with signing an incorrect scorecard.
Hendry was using one of Emeralda Golf Club's local caddies for his round.