Brian Lara of the West Indies falls after dodging a bouncer from Shane Bond. Marty Melville / Getty Images
NAPIER - Rain and bad light saw play end early on the second day of the third cricket test between New Zealand and the West Indies today, with the tourists on 256 for four in their first innings.
Rain forced the players from the field at 1.55pm and bad light and
further showers killed any chance of them returning.
Match officials called an early stumps at 4.30pm (local time).
Runako Morton was on 70 with Dwayne Bravo was on 22.
Only 51 overs were possible today at McLean Park, during which Brian Lara made 83.
Medium pacer Nathan Astle proved miserly, taking figures of one for 23 off 14 overs.
Play will start early tomorrow at 10am.
Earlier Brian Lara's barren runs streak came to an end as the West Indian great hit 83 guiding the tourists to 224 for four at lunch.
The not out batsmen were Runako Morton on 49 and Dwayne Bravo on 12.
Lara struggled in his previous four innings, and while today's knock included some streaky shots, there was also some classic, flowing stroke-play.
But his demise was ugly.
He went to pull Nathan Astle, but a bottom-edge cannoned into his legs then onto the stumps.
He departed McLean Park with a standing ovation after his 107 ball stand which included 12 boundaries.
A fair dose of those came from slashing shots over backward point, but he also delivered some smooth drives and powerful shots through midwicket.
Lara's dismissal came after opener Daren Ganga was bowled for 30 by a full Shane Bond delivery.
West Indies were 171 for three when Lara was removed, and 18 runs later captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul was run out in comical circumstances.
Morton guided a shot to mid-off and set off for a comfortable single and Chanderpaul responded, but soon back-pedalled while Morton reached the bowlers end.
Both batsman quickly grounded their bats, Morton slamming his when he was initially given out.
However after a lengthy deliberation and numerous television replays, Chanderpaul, on two, was ruled to have grounded his bat too late.
- NZPA