Rekindling has won the 157th running of the Melbourne Cup at Flemington by a head from Johannes Vermeer.

The British horse took over the lead of the race with less than 100 metres to run and jockey Corey Brown powered it home to claim his second Melbourne Cup, edging the

Max Dynamite was third.

Joseph O'Brien was the winning trainer beating out his father who had Johannes Vermeer.



22. REKINDLING - Trainer: Joseph O'Brien, jockey: Corey Brown

"I can't believe it," jockey Corey Brown said. "Oh honestly, I chased the ride about six weeks ago and with a light weight (thinking I was) a big chance to get on him.
"I can't believe it. I have been back here from overseas about nine months and slowly and surely getting back to where I was. Mate, again I can't believe it."
Winning owner Lloyd Williams was thrilled.

"An absolute dream. I am so thrilled," he said. "It is terribly exciting. I can't put it into words to be perfectly honest.

"Just to do it with this 23-year-old (trainer Joseph O'Brien). He has been taking the world on. I thought that this horse had some chance and I thought that his run in the Ledger was good and his three-year-old form over there has been very good in the Doncaster Cup."

7. JOHANNES VERMEER - Trainer: Aidan O'Brien, jockey: Ben Melham

9. MAX DYNAMITE - Trainer: Willie Mullins, jockey: Zac Purton

13. BIG DUKE - Trainer: Darren Weir, jockey: Blake Avdulla

The rest of the results are as follows:
5. NAKEETA (18) - Trainer: Iain Jardine, jockey: Glynn Schofield
6. THOMAS HOBSON (21) - Trainer: Wicklow Brave, jockey: Joao Moreira
7. TIBERIAN (4) - Trainer: Alan Couetil, jockey: Olivier Peslier
8. LIBRAN (17) - Trainer: Chris Waller, jockey: Dwayne Dunn
9. MARMELO (5) - Trainer: Hughie Morrison, jockey: Hugh Bowman
10. WICKLOW BRAVE (12) - Trainer: Willie Mullins, jockey: Stephen Baster
11. RED CARDINAL (6) - Trainer: Andreas Wohler, jockey: Kieren McEvoy
12. ALMANDIN (2) - Trainer: Robert Hickmott, jockey: Frankie Dettori
13. CISMONTANE (24) - Trainer: Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott, jockey: Beau Mertens
14. AMELIE'S STAR (23) - Trainer: Darren Weir, jockey: Dean Yendall
15. BOOM TIME (15) - Trainers: David and B Hayes and T Dabernig, jockey: Cory Parish
16. WALL OF FIRE (20) - Trainer: Hugo Palmer, jockey: Craig Williams
17. SINGLE GAZE (19) - Trainer: Nick Olive, jockey: Kathy O'Hara
18. US ARMY RANGER (14) - Trainer: Joseph O'Brien, jockey: Jamie Spencer
19. HUMIDOR (3) - Trainer: Darren Weir, jockey: Blake Shinn
20. HARTNELL (1) - Trainer: James Cummings, jockey: Damian Lane
21. VENTURA STORM (10) - Trainers: David and B Hayes and T Dabernig, jockey: Glen Boss
22. BONDI BEACH (8) - Trainer: Robert Hickmott, jockey: Michael Walker
GALLANTE (16) - Trainer: Robert Hickmott, jockey: Michael Dee
Who Shot Thebarman (11) - Trainer: Chris Waller, jockey: Tommy Berry