Most seats have been decisively won with only one electorate having a margin of less than 1000 votes.

The closest race was in Ohariu where Labour's Greg O'Connor is 679 votes ahead of National's Brett Hudson.

In 2014 there were four electorates with a margin of less than 1000.

In 2011, voting in the Waitakere electorate was so close the winner changed twice after election night.


National's Paula Bennett won on election night with a margin of 349 votes but after the special votes were counted Labour's Carmel Sepuloni was ahead by 11 votes. After calling for a re-count Bennett was declared the winner by a margin of only nine votes.

The Electoral Commission aimed to have the special votes counted and the official results published by midday on Saturday October 7.

The most convincing win was in Rodney where National's Mark Mitchell beat Labour's Marja Lubeck by 17,678.

National's Andrew Bayly cleaned up in Hunua where he held a 17,246 vote majority with 98.8 per cent of the votes counted.

In Selwyn, National member Amy Adams came out on top with 17,205 votes more than Labour's Tony Condon with 99.1 per cent of the ballots counted.