A new primary school will be built in Auckland's Flat Bush.

Education Minister Hekia Parata today announced new primary schools will be built in Auckland, Tauranga and Canterbury.

Parata signed establishment notices for Flat Bush South East School in Auckland, Pyes Pa West School in Tauranga and Lincoln South School in Canterbury.

The Flat Bushg school will take students from Years 1-6, with a roll that will eventually reach 700.


Pyes Pa West School will be built on Kennedy Raod in Tauranga. The location of Lincoln South Primary School in Canterbury is yet to be finalised.

"Like all of our new schools, these three will have state-of-the-art buildings that enable the best possible teaching and learning environment for staff and students," Parata said.

The new schools will be built and maintained by the private sector, under a public private partnership. ShapEd has been chosen as the preferred bidder to build six schools.