National MP for Rangitata Jo Goodhew has announced she will not contest the 2017 election.

Goodhew was one of the casualties of Prime Minister Bill English's Cabinet reshuffle in December, in which she was dropped from the Cabinet to the backbench.

She initially promised to run for Parliament again, but today said she had decided to stand down after considering her future as an MP during the holidays.

"I have taken the opportunity over the summer break to think about my future and to ensure I am making the right decision in choosing not to seek re-election."


She said she had "loved every minute" of her 11-year career in Parliament.

"It's been an interesting, challenging and fulfilling career but it's now time for me to look at new opportunities."

Goodhew's five years as a minister were without incident, but she was demoted to make room for newer faces by English.

She entered Parliament in 2005 in the old Aoraki seat, and was re-elected in the Rangitata seat in 2008, which she has held since.

In her time as an minister, she has held the community and voluntary sector, food safety, senior citizens and women portfolios.

She joins a growing list of National MPs who have signalled their resignation from Parliament, including John Key, Maurice Williamson, Craig Foss, Sam Lotu-Iiga, Murray McCully, Chester Borrows and Jono Naylor.