The Ministry of Education will announce the fate of 31 Christchurch schools today.

Schools will be learning throughout the day whether they will stay open, be closed down, or merged with other schools.

Ministry of Education staff will visit 31 of the 38 schools under the spotlight of the Government's education renewal plans to tell teachers and principals in person of the interim decisions.

Watch the live stream of Parata's announcement here (from 12pm):