Jonathan Webb stunned the V8 SuperTourer field of 40 drivers to grab pole for one of tomorrow's races in Taupo.

Webb set the fastest time of one minute 28.610 seconds with teammate Scott McLaughlin maintaining his good form of late setting the fastest time in the second session and second overall to ensure the Auto Trade Direct Holden starts from the front of the grid for both of tomorrow's races.

Qualifying was held over two sessions with both the regular driver and the co-driver completing a session each.

The grids for each race will be confirmed 30 minutes before the start of tomorrow's first race, the deadline for team managers to nominate the driver who will start which race.


They can nominate either of their drivers to start race one, with the grid being established by lap times achieved by those nominated drivers from fastest to slowest. The grid for the second race is made up in the same way using time of the driver not nominated to start race one.

Newcomer Nick Cassidy took third fastest time overall behind Webb and McLaughlin while Daniel Gaunt also impressed, taking the fourth fastest time overall.

Top 10 qualifying times (Grids for both races determined by times of drivers nominated to start race one or two): Jono Webb (Auto Trader Direct Holden) 1.28.610, 1; Scott McLaughlin (Auto Trader Direct Holden) 1.28.737, 2; Nick Cassidy (M3 Racing Mike Pero Holden) 1.28.770, 3; Daniel Gaunt (Tasman Motorsports Ford) 1.28.803, 4; Jack Perkins (M3 Racing Mike Pero Holden) 1.28.898, 5; Andy Booth (AV8 Woodstock Holden) 1.29.001, 6; Matt Halliday (Driven International Motorsport Ford) 1.29.209, 7; Andre Heimgartner (AV8 Pink Batts Holden) 1.29.298, 8; Tony D'Alberto (AV8 Woodstock Holden) 1.29.327, 9; Paul Manuell (M3 Racing ORIX Holden) 1.29.358, 10.