A whodunnit series and an acclaimed Maori drama were recognised among the nominations for the annual New Zealand Television Awards, announced yesterday.

However, a lack of eligible entries means there will be no awards for one-off drama when the prizes are handed out at the November 11 ceremony.

TV One's Duggan scooped nine nominations and Nga Tohu: Signatures, which was bumped from the TV One schedule on Waitangi Day in favour of America's Cup racing, has received five nominations.

Nga Tohu, used as an educational video in schools and financed by the Legal Services Board, tells the story of a small New Zealand town facing the consequences of a Treaty claim, and how it affects the relationships within that community.

Here is the full list of nominations:

Best children's programme: Suzy's World; What Now?; Pukana.

Best documentary: Return to Romania; He Rau Aroha; The Fatal Game.

Best drama series or serial: Duggan; Shortland Street.

Best entertainment programme: The $20 Challenge - London; Style Magazine Fashion Collection.

Best entertainment series: Havoc & Newsboy's Sell-out Tour; Ice As; Polyfest 2000.

Best factual series: Our People Our Century; Legends of the All Blacks; Coming Home.

Best lifestyle series: Maggie's Garden Show; Corbans Taste New Zealand; Backch@t.

Best comedy programme: Havoc 2000 Deluxe; Pulp Comedy.

Best news and current affairs programme: 60 Minutes; 20/20; 3 News.

Best sports programme: On Tour with the All Black Army; America's Cup, The Final Day; ALAC Sports Awards of New Zealand.

Best Maori language programme: Waka Huia; Moko Toa.

Best Maori programme: It's Cool to Korero; Mai FM; Nga Tohu: Signatures; Nga Morehu End of an Era.

Best actress: Nancy Brunning (Nga Tohu: Signatures); Geraldine Brophy (Shortland Street); Nicola Kawana (Jacksons Wharf).

Best actor: John Bach (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt); George Henare (Nga Tohu: Signatures); Patrick Toomey (Jacksons Wharf).

Best supporting actress: Michele Amas (Duggan: Food to Die For); Stephanie Tauevihi (Shortland Street); Nicole Whippy (Jacksons Wharf).

Best supporting actor: Ross Duncan (Nga Tohu: Signatures); Blair Strang (Shortland Street).

Best performance in an entertainment or comedy programme: Mikey Havoc and Newsboy (Havoc and Newsboy's Sell-out Tour); Madeleine Sami (Ice As); Jon Bridges (Ice As).

Best presenter: John Campbell; Jim Hickey; Judy Bailey.

Best drama script: Donna Malane (Duggan: Workshop for Murder); Judy Callingham (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt).

Best factual programme or documentary script: Bryan Bruce, Ian Johnstone (The Trouble with Ben); Keith Quinn, Colin McRae, John Keir (Legends of the All Blacks); Philip Temple (Our People Our Century: Families at War).

Best director, drama: Justine Simei-Barton (Matou Uma); Yvonne Mackay (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt); Andrew Bancroft (Nga Tohu: Signatures).

Best director, factual programme or documentary: Megan Jones (Return to Romania); Cheryl Cameron (Destination Disaster: Sinking of the Mikhail Lermontov); John Milligan (Shipwreck).

Best camera: Peter Young (Country Calendar: Yankee Harvest); Leon Narbey (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt); Camera Team (America's Cup).

Best editing: Bryan Shaw (Return to Romania); Paul Sutorius (Getting to our Place); Paul Sutorius (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt).

Best original music: Clive Cockburn (Destination Disaster); Gareth Farr (Duggan: Shadow of Doubt); Felicity Williams (Dress Up Box).

Best contribution to a soundtrack: Ian Leslie (Our People Our Century); Haresh Bhana (America's Cup).

Best design: Guy Moana (Moko Toa); Catriona Campbell (Baby Proms); Ned Wenlock (Wired).

Best contribution to design: Brad Mill (Art Direction, The Tribe); Paul Sharp (Virtual Spectator Animation America's Cup).