Kiwi music legend Neil Finn has unveiled a new ballad he has written for The Hobbit trilogy.

Music magazine Rolling Stone is premiering Finn's Song of the Lonely Mountain this morning.

The ballad swells out of a restrained beginning, adding choir harmonies, chants, strings and a beat invoking the sound of steel hitting an anvil.

It was built from a "dark and mysterious" theme sung by dwarves at the beginning of the film, Finn told the magazine.


He said The Hobbit director Peter Jackson told him to get in a "dwarven frame of mind" to write the song.

"After some days of mining underground (actually, in Peters office) I emerged with the song, then set about recording it with my sons Elroy and Liam. Dave Fridmann came in at the end with a bold mix. He seemed to respond well to my demands for 'more anvil!' Pop music needs more anvil," Finn said.

Finn last released new music last year through his project Pajama Club.

Song of the Lonely Mountain will be on The Hobbit soundtrack, set for release on December 10.

It features the film score written by Academy Award winner Howard Shore and recorded at Abbey Road studios by the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Shore also wrote the soundtrack for The Lord of the Rings trilogy

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey will premiere at Wellington's Embassy Theatre on November 28.

The Hobbit tracklist:
Disc 1:


1. My Dear Frodo
2. Old Friends
3. An Unexpected Party
4. Axe or Sword?
5. Misty Mountains performed by Richard Armitage and The Dwarf Cast
6. The Adventure Begins
7. The World is Ahead
8. An Ancient Enemy
9. Radagast the Brown
10. Roast Mutton
11. A Troll-hoard
12. The Hill of Sorcery
13. Warg-scouts

Disc 2:

1. The Hidden Valley
2. Moon Runes
3. The Defiler
4. The White Council
5. Over Hill
6. A Thunder Battle
7. Under Hill
8. Riddles in the Dark
9. Brass Buttons
10. Out of the Frying-Pan
11. A Good Omen
12. Song of the Lonely Mountain performed by Neil Finn
13. Dreaming of Bag End