The finalists for the annual Taite Prize have been announced with seven acts vying for the $10,000 prize given to what the award's judges say is the best New Zealand album of the past year.

In the running are:

* Chamber-pop maestro Andrew Keoghan for his debut Arctic Tales Divide.

* Wellington metallers Beastwars for their self-titled debut.


* Hip-hop star David Dallas for sophomore album The Rose Tint.

* She's So Rad - aka multi-talented Jeremy Toy - for his solo debut of dreamy fuzzpop In Circles.

* Tiny Ruins aka singer-songwriter songstress Hollie Fullbrook for her delicate debut, Some Were Meant For Sea.

* Unknown Mortal Orchestra, the new band of ex-Mint Chick Ruban Nielson, for their self-titled first outing.

* Flying Nun perennials The Bats for umpteenth album and acclaimed return-to-form Free All Monsters.

The winner will be announced on April 20 at a ceremony at Auckland's Q Theatre.

This is the third year for the Taite Prize, named after late television music journalist Dylan Taite.

The inaugural prize in 2010 was given to Lawrence Arabia for his album Chant Darling, and last year's award went to Ladi6 for The Liberation Of ...