The finalists in the New Zealand music awards technical categories have been announced, and Wellington artists dominate.

The Phoenix Foundation and Fly My Pretties are represented in all three categories, which will be presented on September 1 when the rest of the music awards finalists will be released.

Best Album Cover
Paul Johnson for Buffalo (The Phoenix Foundation)
Rebekah Atkins, Kieran Rynhart, Mikee Tucker and Anita Liu for A Story (Fly My Pretties)
Ryan Marx for Everything (P-Money)

Best Engineer
Andre Upston for Magnetic (Miriam Clancy)
Lee Prebble for Buffalo (The Phoenix Foundation)
Lee Prebble for A Story (Fly My Pretties)

Best Producer
Jeremy Toy for Standing In The Rain (Opensouls)
Lee Prebble and Barnaby Weir for A Story (Fly My Pretties)
The Phoenix Foundation for Buffalo (The Phoenix Foundation)

Also at the September 1 function the recipient of the fourth annual Legacy Award will be announced. The recipient will be honoured at the main awards at the Vector Arena on October 7, and inducted by RIANZ and APRA into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.