Demon Energy D1NZ series organisers have announced the much anticipated 2016/17 series calendar during the annual CRC Speedshow held at ASB Showgrounds.

A bold new event line-up will see six high profile drifting shows across New Zealand; comprising of a five round national championship series, followed by the first ever 'Teams Championship' event to be held at Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland.

The biggest surprise for both fans and competitors is the announcement of Dunedin's Forsyth Barr Stadium as host for the opening round in December 2016; the custom motorsport event will be a first of its kind for the Southern Hemisphere.

More than 3600 square metres of race track will be laid inside the covered all-weather stadium, creating what organisers say will be the most unique motorsport exercise undertaken this side of the globe.


"The effort required to build an event of this nature is huge, but it's been a long time coming. We can't wait to see some of the best drift-cars in the world roar in front of a packed stadium atmosphere, combined with a fresh and exciting new show format this will be one not to miss", said D1NZ Series Director Brendon White.

The coming season will also see the series visit the newly completed Club Circuit at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park in the northern Waikato, as well as the aforementioned return to Auckland's Mt Smart Stadium for the first ever Team-Drifting competition.

The new events line-up was revealed to invited guests, teams and sponsors overnight as part of an annual D1NZ Awards Dinner. A new series partnership with international event production specialists 'Groove Group' was also announced, a combination that brings over forty years' experience in the events industry.

The 14th season of the D1NZ New Zealand Drifting Championship kicks off over December 2-3 at Forsyth Barr Stadium, see the full calendar below. Tune into TV3's Newshub from 6pm tonight to see the launch of Round One at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

D1NZ 2016/17 Schedule:

R1 - Forsyth Barr Stadium - 2/3 December 2016 - Night Event
R2 - Manfeild Raceway - 6/7 January 2017
R3 - ASB Baypark Stadium - 24/25 February 2017 - Night Event
R4 - Hampton Downs Motorsport Park - 25/26 March 2017
R5 - Pukekohe Park Raceway - 23/24 April 2017 - Grand Final
R6 - Mt Smart Stadium - TBC May 2017 - Teams Champs - Night Event